The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Promlem with Add-on Domains on Dedicated IP accounts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by S-Combs, May 8, 2008.

  1. S-Combs

    S-Combs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have recently moved clients to a new machine and have been experiencing many problems. so far we've encountered many DNS and Email related problems that seem to have finally been resolved but are now having problems with new add-on domains.

    This seems to be a 2 fold problem

    1) cpanel is allowing the usernames for add-on domains to exceed the 8 character limit and the account doesn't get properly setup when over 8 characters are inserted in that field.

    Example:

    If the domain is; thisisaverylongdomainname.com
    The Subdomain/Ftp Username field is populated with; thisisaverylongdomainname
    The document root: public_html/thisisaverylongdomainname.com

    Well, that creates the account within cpanel as well as the sub-domain entry but does not setup the Domain itself or add a DNS record.

    If you create that same account using a shorter username then everything gets setup fine


    2) The add-on domains are not forwarding to the proper directory. They instead just load the primary domain of that account with the new domain name like a Parked domain.

    I have only noticed this so far on our dedicated IP based accounts and haven't yet tested on a shared
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have root access to the server, if so please submit a support ticket: http://tickets.cpanel.net/submit

    If not, please contact your hosting provider for assistance.
     
  3. S-Combs

    S-Combs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi David, thanks for replying.

    I already have an open ticket where I had the tech look into the DNS issues we were having and they found problems with the datastore I was told and they rebuilt them. I will reply to that once more I guess

    id=248795
    secid=c7ouNoP5TU

    I thought this was possibly something someone else may have encountered so I didn't need to keep bothering your staff. I am at witts end with this though because, it's been a never ending support nightmare since the upgrade on this server.

    I made this transfer using the new multi account transfer script available in your edge builds. I read on the Softlayer forums that this was already quite stable and reliable so I decided to give it a try in order to avoid extended downtime.

    I have to warn others before they attempt using this if they have many dedicated IP based accounts with SSL certs. I've had problems with nearly every account ranging from email abilities to no data within cPanel when accessed. Most of our accounts were added to both localdomains and remotedomains and when correcting these files, they would revert back again within hours somehow. I also had to reinstall many of the SSL certs.

    I have read that others have used this very successfully on basic shared IP based accounts but it is far from ready for e commerce accounts such as ours.
     
    #3 S-Combs, May 8, 2008
    Last edited: May 8, 2008
  4. curriertech

    curriertech Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    03819
    I am experiencing a similar issue, except that my client is not a dedicated IP account. I see the same 8+ character username issue, and the new addon domain redirects to http://www.rootdomain.com/sortalongaddondomain.com. I did some testing with a shorter domain name under one of my accounts and it worked just fine, but I can't seem to get his to work properly. If you get anywhere with this issue, please post some details, thanks! :)

    WHM 11.15.0
    cPanel 11.18.6-R24255
     
    #4 curriertech, May 9, 2008
    Last edited: May 9, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page