Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Proper way to park a domain for a sub account?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by unomateo, Jan 30, 2006.

  1. unomateo

    unomateo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi,

    I have a reseller account, so I do not have full control over the server.

    I have a client that needs to park about 30 domain names.
    His registrar will not let him change nameservers to a server that is not hosting the sites, and cpanel will not let him park the domains while the nameservers are pointing to another server.

    So what can I do?

    I logged into whm and parked a domain for him, then he changed the nameservers, but from his cpanel account he did not have control of the parked domain and then I could not find it anymore...I had to get the server admin to take care of it.

    Well now He wants about 30 done, so is there a proper way to do this?
     
  2. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Well how would his registrar know if his domain is hosted or not until you dont change the NameServers??? :rolleyes:
    Ask you host to uncheck "Allow Creation of Parked/Addon Domains that resolve to other servers (ie domain transfers)" from Main >> Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings, unless you finish parking your 30 domains.
    If they refuse, its time to change host :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. unomateo

    unomateo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thanks

    I sent them the request, hope they do it!

    Thanks for the help
     
  4. unomateo

    unomateo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    They refused to do it, they said it is a security violation?

    Is this true?
     
  5. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Not if they follow the suggestion of not allowing common domain names. Like Murtaza_t said, find a new host. We've never once had any issues having it enabled.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice