The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Proper way to park a domain for a sub account?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by unomateo, Jan 30, 2006.

  1. unomateo

    unomateo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I have a reseller account, so I do not have full control over the server.

    I have a client that needs to park about 30 domain names.
    His registrar will not let him change nameservers to a server that is not hosting the sites, and cpanel will not let him park the domains while the nameservers are pointing to another server.

    So what can I do?

    I logged into whm and parked a domain for him, then he changed the nameservers, but from his cpanel account he did not have control of the parked domain and then I could not find it anymore...I had to get the server admin to take care of it.

    Well now He wants about 30 done, so is there a proper way to do this?
     
  2. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Well how would his registrar know if his domain is hosted or not until you dont change the NameServers??? :rolleyes:
    Ask you host to uncheck "Allow Creation of Parked/Addon Domains that resolve to other servers (ie domain transfers)" from Main >> Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings, unless you finish parking your 30 domains.
    If they refuse, its time to change host :D
     
  3. unomateo

    unomateo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks

    I sent them the request, hope they do it!

    Thanks for the help
     
  4. unomateo

    unomateo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    They refused to do it, they said it is a security violation?

    Is this true?
     
  5. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Not if they follow the suggestion of not allowing common domain names. Like Murtaza_t said, find a new host. We've never once had any issues having it enabled.
     
Loading...

Share This Page