The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Proper way to set up DNS

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by SeñorAmor, May 10, 2004.

  1. SeñorAmor

    SeñorAmor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Here's the scoop:

    Fresh install of cPanel on a RH 9 box. My primary domain (let's call it domain.com) will also be "hosting" the nameservers. I have two IPs going into one NIC; one for ns1.domain.com and the other for ns2.domain.com.

    My problem is that when I originally set up WHM, and it adds the A record for my hostname (web.domain.com), it doesn't find the DNS settings for domain.com as I haven't had a chance to enter them yet. I didn't think much of it as I was sure this was how you had to do it anyway. Flash forward to today (several days later), and none of my domains are resolving properly. dnsstuff.com doesn't show any A records for any of the domains. It does show the proper nameservers (most likely pulled from my registrar), but that's it.

    I'm thinking I set something up incorrectly during the initial set up, but as it was my first time doing so, I couldn't tell you what I did wrong. I went with what I thought was correct, but it would appear I erred somewhere.

    If my hosting server is also going to function as the primary and secondary nameservers for all domains on the box, what would be the proper way to set this up?

    Thanks in advance,
    Sen
     
  2. SeñorAmor

    SeñorAmor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Help please. :(
     
  3. SeñorAmor

    SeñorAmor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    grrr anyone? :mad:
     
  4. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    There is quite a bit to setting up a DNS server properly and this is why you haven't got a response. It isn't just a couple of lines that we can post to fix your problem. I recommend hiring one of the admin companies here or some of the great administrators here to help you.
     
  5. SeñorAmor

    SeñorAmor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    No no no. What I meant was during the initial WHM setup, which boxes do I want to ensure that I have filled in (and, if possible the correct values) so my box functions as I described in the initial post.

    :)
     
  6. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did you get this resolved?
     
  7. SeñorAmor

    SeñorAmor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nope. My server has been running for several days and nothing on it seems to be resolving. I can't figure it out for the life of me. :confused:
     
  8. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In WHM, checkout your DNS zone file for yourdomain.com

    it should at least have A records for:

    yourdomain.com. A -> ipaddy.of.your.domain
    host.yourdomain.com. A ->ipaddy.of.yourhost.domain
    ns1 A -> ipaddy.ofns1.yourdomain.com
    ns2 A -> ipaddy.ofns2.yourdomain.com

    **** note that there are no periods (".") after ns1 and ns2! *****


    Also, /etc/nameserverips should have your nameservers listed. You can manually edit this file to reflect appropriate data.

    As well, /etc/resolv.conf should be edited to reflect the appropriate data
     
  9. SeñorAmor

    SeñorAmor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yup. Both files have the correct information and the DNS entries match. I can't figure out why it's not working. :(
     
  10. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you want someone to look at it?
     
  11. SeñorAmor

    SeñorAmor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sure, if someone wants to do it for no charge. ;)

    I don't really think my boss would go for yet another fee for this computer (we've had a few hardware problems already. ugh!)
     
  12. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Okay. Send me a password via PM
     
    #12 sawbuck, May 12, 2004
    Last edited: May 12, 2004
  13. SeñorAmor

    SeñorAmor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Check your PMs.

    My email is actin kinda futzy atm.

    If you have AIM, ICQ or Yahoo, lemme know. I use all 3 at work.

    Thanks again,
    Sen
     
  14. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sen. Still here?
     
    #14 sawbuck, May 12, 2004
    Last edited: May 12, 2004
  15. SeñorAmor

    SeñorAmor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yup.
     
  16. alex042

    alex042 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Also make sure you have your nameservers registered with your domain registrar or all of this work on the server will be for nothing.
     
Loading...

Share This Page