The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PTR disappeared

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by tomjohnson, Jan 9, 2011.

1. tomjohnson

tomjohnson Registered

Newbie here. I finally figured out how to set a PTR for our site using the WHM control panel. About 12 hours later, I checked DNSGoodies, and for the first time in months, the DNS records were all there, including my newly created PTR. Yesterday, 5 days after all was well, DNSGoodies shows no PTR found. The record entry is still there in the DNS Zone in WHM.

I don't understand how that can happen. Can anyone point me in the right direction, and/or offer a clue how I can prevent it from happening?

Thanks!

2. cPanelJared

cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you sure that reverse DNS (PTR) authority was delegated to your server? Most data centers do not delegate this authority to individual customers' servers, requiring their customers to contact the data center to have the PTR record set. If you have not done so already, contact your data center and ask if reverse DNS authority has been delegated to your server.

3. tomjohnson

tomjohnson Registered

Thanks Jared! I fear I am in over my head here . . . And I apologize in advance for the lengthy post, but I don't know what else to do but ask.

Last summer we switched from a shared hosting plan to a VPS plan. The domain I'm trying to 'fix' is 'hosted' on the VPS. I will ask our service provider about authority, though their tech support is not very voluble with explanations . . . But if I do not have the authority, why did WHM allow me to set the record and why did it show up later in a DNSGoodies query? I don't understand . . .