Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

public_html is under "nobody" Group

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pauloray, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. pauloray

    pauloray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I updated Apache 2.2 to Apache 2.4 last week and one thing i noticed is that /home/cpaneluser/public_html is owned by cpaneluser and group under nobody

    Code:
    drwxr-x---  11 cpaneluser nobody  4096 Jan 12 01:13 public_html/
    
    Is this normal?

    And using using "top" on SSH, I also see "nobody" on the list under USER.


    How can I fix this?

    This is my server config:
    Code:
    Default PHP Version (.php files)	5
    PHP 5 Handler	suphp
     	 
    Apache suEXEC	on
    Apache Ruid2	off
    
     
  2. Sreejit

    Sreejit Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Both permissions and ownership of public_html are correct.

    Apache does run under nobody. The php process created under it will run under their respective user.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. pauloray

    pauloray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Sreejit.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,809
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, the ownership values you referenced are normal, as indicated by the other poster. It's normal for Apache to run as "nobody". The exception to this is if you are using Mod_Ruid2:

    EasyApache - Mod_Ruid2

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice