The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/public_html/ Not working properly, WWW 404

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SupermanInNY, Apr 24, 2004.

  1. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi all,

    I have several problems, some are just my lack of knowledge and some are weired.

    Lets start:

    1. I have a user who requested to have SSL installed.
    2. I installed the SSL,. and then I remembered he probably
    need his own dedicated IP address.
    3. I changed his IP Address and re-installed the certificate.
    4. I didn't do a check on the process, but the user called me
    several hours later to let me know that his site is not
    pulling up at all now.
    5. Panic frenzy started...
    6. Forget the SSL... just get his site working...
    7. Change Site's IP address back to the shared IP.
    8. vi httpd.conf and removed all new IP address related
    entries.
    9. service httpd restart.
    10. All other websites in the meantime are working fine.

    I get weired on/off working, not working results!

    Check the first example,.. while I was litterally writing this msg, I get Working at the begining and half and hour later,. not working (look at the first 2 entries and the last two entries).


    Using Mozilla and using IE6 I am able to go to:

    http://www.domain.com/somedirectory/ Works!
    http://domain.com/ Doesn't Work!
    By "doesn't work" I mean the following:

    The /usr/local/apache/log/error_log doesn't show any erros:

    When looking into the domlogs of the domain:

    If I use lynx http://domain.com I get a blank page on lynx but the domlogs show:

    64.62.128.4 - - [24/Apr/2004:15:15:19 +0300] "GET / HTTP/1.0" 200 85 "-" "Lynx/2.8.4dev.7 libwww-FM/2.14"

    If I use lynx http://www.domain.com I get a blank page on lynx but the domlogs show:

    64.62.128.4 - - [24/Apr/2004:15:16:49 +0300] "GET / HTTP/1.0" 200 85 "-" "Lynx/2.8.4dev.7 libwww-FM/2.14"

    If I use Mozilla http://domain.com

    I get:

    "There is no website configured at this address." and this is the basically the greenish cPanel index page.


    I do not get domlogs, but instead I get /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log entries:



    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/css/style.cssx
    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml
    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/images/index_01.gif
    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml
    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/images/index_04.gif
    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml
    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/images/index_02.gif
    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml
    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/images/index_03.gif
    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml
    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/images/bbg.gif
    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml
    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/images/bottom_label.gif
    [Sat Apr 24 15:18:47 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml


    If I use Mozilla http://domain.com/homepage (homepage is a valid subdirectory on the site).
    I do not get domlogs, but instead I get /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log entries:


    [Sat Apr 24 15:23:33 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/homepage
    [Sat Apr 24 15:23:33 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/404.shtml


    If I use Mozilla http://www.domain.com/


    I do not get domlogs, but instead I get /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log entries:


    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:07 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/css/style.cssx
    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:07 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml
    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:08 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/images/index_01.gif
    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:08 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml
    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:08 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/images/index_02.gif
    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:08 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml
    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:08 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/images/index_04.gif
    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:08 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml
    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:08 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/images/index_03.gif
    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:08 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml
    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:08 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/images/bbg.gif
    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:08 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml
    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:08 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] client denied by server configuration: /usr/local/cpanel/sys_cpanel/images/bottom_label.gif
    [Sat Apr 24 15:26:08 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/403.shtml


    If I use Mozilla http://www.domain.com/homepage
    I do not get domlogs, but instead I get /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log entries:

    [Sat Apr 24 15:27:54 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/homepage
    [Sat Apr 24 15:27:54 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/404.shtml

    If I use lynx http://www.domain.com/homepage/index.php

    It pulls up fine!

    If I use Mozilla http://www.domain.com/homepage/index.php
    It pulls up sometime OK,.. and sometime produces 404.

    If I use IE6 http://www.domain.com/homepage/index.php
    I get:

    [Sat Apr 24 15:38:10 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/homepage/index.php
    [Sat Apr 24 15:38:10 2004] [error] [client 82.166.240.58] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/404.shtml


    httpd.conf entry:


    <VirtualHost 123.567.12.123>
    ServerAlias domain.com www.domain.com
    ServerAdmin webmaster@domain.com
    DocumentRoot /home/domainco/public_html
    BytesLog domlogs/domain.com-bytes_log
    ServerName www.domain.com
    User domainco
    Group domainco
    CustomLog domlogs/domain.com combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/domainco/public_html/cgi-bin/
    </VirtualHost>



    I am very confused here!

    Thanks,

    -Alon.
     
    #1 SupermanInNY, Apr 24, 2004
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2004
  2. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmm...

    After you edited httpd.conf to return to the original IP and config, did you also edit the domains zone to revert it back to the old IP?
     
  3. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, the DNS Zones were changed back to the original IP address.

    That I've checked as the first thing to see maybe I didn't change it.. but it was changed.

    Now.. after an hour and a half or so,.. everything works just fine on it's own!!!
    Past the changes I've mentioned in my previous post,.. I've done nothing (except getting a chicken ceaser salad at McDonald's.. you think that help?? :D )

    Or at least I hope it does.

    My only guess is that either there was some kind of caching somewhere either on my own machine (but I was also lynxing from 3 different server spread from California to Texas) and now it all seems to work fine.

    Any chance for a 'caching' or something on the ISP or the server itself??

    I just hope this will not change on its own in few hours!

    -Alon.
     
  4. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    A simle propogation issue.

    Whenever I change a site's IP, create subdomains, etc... I usually count on anywhere from 10 minutes to 4 or so hours before everything is peachy:)
     
  5. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Going back to basic steps:

    I want to give the client the SSL working.

    Do I need to provide each SSL client with it's own dedicated IP address?

    Do I need to do anything special other than change the IP address in the control panel?

    This is where I get semi-confused with the DNS entries and I hope you can assist me with this as well.

    My DNS server is on my own server,.. so actually my

    ns1.myserver.com --> 123.123.123.123
    ns2.myserver.com --> 123.123.123.123

    They are BOTH pointing to the SAME IP ADDRESS.

    Since the resolution is done on my own single box,. it doesn't matter if I have 'different' IP address for ns1 and ns2. If ns1 is not pulling up.. well.. ns2 is the same box and same responding server,..so obviously it can't do ns2 as well.

    Going forward:

    1. Change the client IP Address.
    2. Now what do I do?
    Does this need to propagate through anywhere around the world?
    I've tried to do this before and it gave me the same symptoms that made me start this thread.

    Learing aspect here:

    From the pool of IP addresses that I have (heck.. I only have 2 from my hosting facility.. the 3rd and 4th.. already going to cost me some change),. How does it work??

    ns1.domain.com --->> IP 1 (I'll use just a single digit to abvreviate).

    ns2.domain.com --->> IP 1 (again..same server...same info).



    Primary IP of the server with everybody sharing the same IP address: ---> IP 1


    I have a free IP and a customer that wants it.

    Just change IP for the specific client and set it to --->> IP 2 ??

    Will the DNS server (on my own box) know to resolve the calls to the client's domain to the IP 2?
    Do I need to do anythign??
    Do I need to create new DNS Zones?
    Do I need to create an entry in GoDaddy? ns3.domain.com???

    Thanks for your input on this.. as I said... at the begining of the post: Some stuff is weired.. and some stuff,.. I just don't have the knowledge.

    I appreciate your help on this (again).

    -Alon.
     
  6. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Whenever an account has an IP change there is, up to 6 hrs. of propagation. Normally the account will show the Apache Test page. The 'no account setup at this IP' page will show instead, if using the DarkOrb index page.

    If an account is using a Shared IP and wants to use an SSL Cert, first change the IP to a Dedicated, wait for propagation to complete and then setup the Cert.

    Do what it takes to get more IP addresses as you will very quickly find yourself running into problems. Having only 2 IPs for a Server is not the way to go. Ask for 16 or 32 more as they do not have to be justified and, except for DC cost of the IPs, will give you more IP breathing room.
     
  7. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the reply, but kindly walk me through the process:

    I don't understand something:

    The change of the IP is on MY box. Who is propagating the info?
    How?
    That's the mistery for me.
    I made the change on cPanel, but the resolution is done on my box (same place),so why would a propagation take that long?
    I'm not sending any info to anyone.. am I? cPanel does?
    If I'm not changing anything in the DNS at GoDaddy,. the domain still resolves to my ns1.domain.com then runs over to my DNS server on my box and finally gets resolved to it's last destination with IP 2.
    So,.. I'm confused to how or why it would take as long as 6 hours for the internal change to happen.

    -Alon.
     
  8. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It takes time for the Internet to update the changes. The fact that it is an internal change is why it doesn't take as long as a change with a Registrar.

    Remember, IP addresses are what is actually used -- Domain names are only an easy reference for us Humans -- so changing an IP address requires updating to be done.

    Go with the flow, grasshopper. ;)
     
  9. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    I didn't have time to read this entire thread so you guys just ignore me if what I suggest makes no sense. I think I read he was having problems with SSL 404 page on a domain that does resolve correctly? I have seen this before on new certs. Try commenting out the line in httpd.conf ssl for his virtual host that points to the cabundle. Restart apache and try the https again.

    sorry guys ..ignoe my post above. I read it too fast. Yes it does apear to be a simply propagation issue :)
     
    #9 rpmws, Apr 24, 2004
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2004
Loading...

Share This Page