The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Publish/Image question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bigpapi, Mar 16, 2010.

1. Bigpapi

Bigpapi Registered

Hello,
    I am new here.

I am trying to publish my site using cPanel, but when I do, the images don't show up.

I have created an images folder in the html directory, and then I move them over. Is there an easy way to have them automatically go to the folders?

Yes, I am a total noob about this, so please talk slow. =)

2. Spiral

Spiral BANNED

All files for your web site go under the /public_html folder which is the top of your web site so if your web address were http://www.domain.tld and you put your files in /public_html then those files would appear at http://www.domain.tld.

In the same way, if you were to put an image file say "photo.jpg" in /public_html/images then that file would be accessed on the web as http://www.domain.tld/images/photo.jpg

(Notice that the web address itself never has "/public_html/" in it)

When putting in links to your image files, just make sure that you make those links relative to where you put those files. If they are directly dropped in public_html then you can call them as "/filename" but if you put them someplace lower on the folder tree such as /public_html/images then you would want to call them as "/images/filename" in your web page code and hyperlinks.

All your links should be relative to where you placed the files

3. Bigpapi

Bigpapi Registered

Working Links

Hello,
    Sorry for the silly question, but I am new and trying to figure some things out.

What is the structure so my links will work?

I published my home page to the public HTML folder. Now I want to link a Contact Us page.