Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Pure-ftpd, custom settings overwritten?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Endre Ottem, Apr 19, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Endre Ottem

    Endre Ottem Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    It seems that cPanel & WHM 64 (build 13) overwrites any custom settings in pure-ftpd.conf with default values? At least this has happened on all of our CentOS 7-servers during the last week or so. We always change the PassivePortRange to 30000 35000. After the latest update this has been reset to 49152 65534 (which is a problem since we have not allowed that port range in our firewalls).

    Haven't seen this on CentOS 6 yet, but that can be just a coincidence.
     
  2. Serra

    Serra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Florida
    I'm seeing it on my CentOS 6 server today. Trying to pass PCI compliance and need to change the range to 36000 - 40000, but today it was reset to 36000 - 42000. Doesn't match the firewall, so FTP is screwed up.
     
    ashrafpro likes this.
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,853
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you verify that changes to the Pure-FTPd configuration were made using the instruction on the FTP FAQ document?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    ashrafpro likes this.
  4. Serra

    Serra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Florida
    I can honestly say I've never seen that document. I've been editing the config file directly, which seemed to work in the past.

    This new method appears to work.
     
    ashrafpro likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice