Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

pure-ftpd - install error>

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by maaking, Aug 11, 2005.

  1. maaking

    maaking Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151


    i tried switching to Pure-ftpd. from: Service Configuration >FTP Configuration> (switch to Pure-ftpd)

    but it didn't, i think there is an error (error: cannot open Packages database )in /var/lib/rpm

    any suggestions?



    ===Here is the Dump===========================================


    Ftp Setup Script Version 6.0
    Fetching version information from http://updates.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/version (STABLE)....Done
    This is the pure-ftpd 1.0.20 installer release number 10.tls for platform redhat 9
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    Using RPM Backend: RPM version 4.2
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    db4-devel: installed version 4.0.14-20 is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    pam-devel: installed version 0.75-62.10.legacy is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    openssl096: installed version 0.9.6-25.9 is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    openssl096b: installed version 0.9.6b-15 is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    openssl: installed version 0.9.7a-20.4.legacy is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    openssl-devel: installed version 0.9.7a-20.4.legacy is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    gcc: installed version 3.2.2-5 is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    glibc-devel: installed version 2.3.2-27.9.7 is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment

    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    zlib-devel: installed version 1.1.4-8 is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    rpm-build: installed version 4.2-0.69 is up to date, no action needed.
    Resetting pure-ftpd to cPanel Defaults and Installing the Latest Version
    --10:07:28-- http://diff.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/pure-ftpd/redhat/9/pure-ftpd-1.0.20-10.tls.i386.rpm
    => `pure-ftpd-1.0.20-10.tls.i386.rpm'
    Resolving diff.cpanel.net... done.
    Connecting to diff.cpanel.net[198.66.78.11]:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 208,882 [application/x-rpm]

    0K .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... 24% 1.28 MB/s
    50K .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... 49% 3.76 MB/s
    100K .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... 73% 2.03 MB/s
    150K .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... 98% 2.71 MB/s
    200K ... 100% 3.89 MB/s

    10:07:28 (2.12 MB/s) - `pure-ftpd-1.0.20-10.tls.i386.rpm' saved [208882/208882]

    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    Attempting to restart ftpserver
    Waiting for ftpserver to restart....
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    finished.


    ftpserver status nobody 18323 0.0 0.4 4352 2168 ? S 10:08 0:00 proftpd: (accepting connections)



    ftpserver started ok
    Install Complete


    Ftp Server Install Complete
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Looks like you have a corrupt rpm database. You could try:

    rm -fv /var/lib/rpm/__db*
    rpm --rebuilddb -v -v


    That last command may take some time to run through. when it is finished, give the pure-ftpd installation another go:

    /scripts/ftpup --force
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. maaking

    maaking Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    thank you chirby,

    i did it but i think there is an error also:

    here is the ssh screen:

    1-
    root@XXXXXX [~]# rm -fv /var/lib/rpm/__db*

    removed `/var/lib/rpm/__db.001'

    2-
    root@XXXXXX[~]# rpm --rebuilddb -v -v

    D: rebuilding database /var/lib/rpm into /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.27201
    D: creating directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.27201
    D: opening old database with dbapi 3
    D: opening db environment /var/lib/rpm/Packages create:cdb:mpool
    rpmdb: write: 0xbfffd4c0, 8192: Invalid argument
    error: db4 error(22) from dbenv->open: Invalid argument
    D: opening db index /var/lib/rpm/Packages rdonly mode=0x0
    error: cannot open Packages index
    D: removing directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.27201
     
  4. nickb

    nickb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    India
    Do you have LES installed if yes then ...

    Code:
    cd /var/lib/rpm/
    chattr -i *
    rebuild the rpm database and then try to switch ftp.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You may also have other processes locking the database. To check you should run:

    lsof | grep /var/lib/rpm

    And kill off any processes that have a lock and then redo the rebuild. You could, of course, have a completely corrupt rpm database and then things get very difficult indeed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Alexandre

    Alexandre Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I think I can help you:)

    You can fix the problem in this way

    export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.2.5
    rpm --rebuilddb
    rpm --initdb
    /scripts/ftpup pure-ftpd --force
    :) :) :) :) :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. maaking

    maaking Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    thank you guys for help.

    here again what i've done in the ssh:

    suggested by: Alexandre
    1-
    root@xxxx [/]# rpm --rebuilddb
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index

    2-
    root@xxxx [/]# rpm --initdb
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    -------------------------------------------------
    suggested by: nickb
    root@xxxx [/var/lib/rpm]# chattr -i *

    result nothing.

    -------------------------------------------------------
    suggested by: chirpy

    when i run this, nothing appears.
    1-
    root@xxxx [/]# lsof | grep /var/lib/rpm

    2-
    root@xxxx [/]# cd /var/lib/rpm/
    root@xxxx [/var/lib/rpm]# ls
    ./ Basenames __db.001 Filemd5s Installtid Name Providename Pubkeys Requireversion Sigmd5
    ../ Conflictname Dirnames Group mail/ Packages Provideversion Requirename Sha1header Triggername

    root@xxxx [/var/lib/rpm]# rm -fv /var/lib/rpm/__db*
    removed `/var/lib/rpm/__db.001'
    root@xxxx [/var/lib/rpm]# rpm --rebuilddb -v -v
    D: rebuilding database /var/lib/rpm into /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.23885
    D: creating directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.23885
    D: opening old database with dbapi 3
    D: opening db environment /var/lib/rpm/Packages create:cdb:mpool
    rpmdb: write: 0xbfffd4b0, 8192: Invalid argument
    error: db4 error(22) from dbenv->open: Invalid argument
    D: opening db index /var/lib/rpm/Packages rdonly mode=0x0
    error: cannot open Packages index
    D: removing directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.23885
    root@xxxx [/var/lib/rpm]#


    for somehow i cannot update appache to install GD and PHPsuEXEC or switching to Pure-ftpd.

    :confused: :confused: :confused:

    here is what i have in the rpm dir.
    root@xxxx [/var/lib/rpm]# ls
    ./ Basenames __db.001 Filemd5s Installtid Name Providename Pubkeys Requireversion Sigmd5
    ../ Conflictname Dirnames Group mail/ Packages Provideversion Requirename Sha1header Triggername
    root@serv1 [/var/lib/rpm]#


    thank you
     
    #7 maaking, Sep 2, 2005
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2005
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Are you using a custom kernel rather than the OS supplied one?

    I would suggest rerunning this from Alexandre's last post now that the database is no longer locked (which is why it failed initially):

    export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.2.5
    rpm --rebuilddb -v -v


    If it still fails with the same error then it appears to be a corrupt rpm database. Unless you have an identical server where you could take a copy of the rpm database to use (though not a great idea) you may well be looking at an OS restore.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. maaking

    maaking Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    i upgraded the kernel to 2.6.11.

    so, i should do this:
    export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.6.11
    rpm --rebuilddb -v -v



    thanks again.
     
  10. maaking

    maaking Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    this is the reult of the command given by Alexandre.

    root@xxxxx[/var/lib/rpm]# export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.6.11
    root@xxxxx[/var/lib/rpm]# rpm --rebuilddb -v -v
    D: rebuilding database /var/lib/rpm into /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.17583
    D: creating directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.17583
    D: opening old database with dbapi 3
    D: opening db environment /var/lib/rpm/Packages joinenv
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    D: opening db index /var/lib/rpm/Packages rdonly mode=0x0
    error: cannot open Packages index
    D: removing directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.17583
    root@xxxxx[/var/lib/rpm]#
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No, you need to do it as posted, the whole point is to fool rpm about the kernel that you're actually using.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. webz05

    webz05 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    i was having the same issue, now when i do the ftp install it keeps installing pro-ftpd witch i dont want to use
     
  13. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Check in WHM > FTP Configuration > if it's set to pure-ftpd, set it to proftpd and save it, then try switchng it back over to pure-ftpd. If it's still set to proftpd there, just change it to pure-ftpd again. If it still fails to switch to pure-ftpd log a ticket with your cpanel license provider to get it sorted out.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice