The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pure-ftpd - install error>

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by maaking, Aug 11, 2005.

  1. maaking

    maaking Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1


    i tried switching to Pure-ftpd. from: Service Configuration >FTP Configuration> (switch to Pure-ftpd)

    but it didn't, i think there is an error (error: cannot open Packages database )in /var/lib/rpm

    any suggestions?



    ===Here is the Dump===========================================


    Ftp Setup Script Version 6.0
    Fetching version information from http://updates.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/version (STABLE)....Done
    This is the pure-ftpd 1.0.20 installer release number 10.tls for platform redhat 9
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    Using RPM Backend: RPM version 4.2
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    db4-devel: installed version 4.0.14-20 is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    pam-devel: installed version 0.75-62.10.legacy is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    openssl096: installed version 0.9.6-25.9 is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    openssl096b: installed version 0.9.6b-15 is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    openssl: installed version 0.9.7a-20.4.legacy is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    openssl-devel: installed version 0.9.7a-20.4.legacy is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    gcc: installed version 3.2.2-5 is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    glibc-devel: installed version 2.3.2-27.9.7 is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment

    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    zlib-devel: installed version 1.1.4-8 is up to date, no action needed.
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    rpm-build: installed version 4.2-0.69 is up to date, no action needed.
    Resetting pure-ftpd to cPanel Defaults and Installing the Latest Version
    --10:07:28-- http://diff.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/pure-ftpd/redhat/9/pure-ftpd-1.0.20-10.tls.i386.rpm
    => `pure-ftpd-1.0.20-10.tls.i386.rpm'
    Resolving diff.cpanel.net... done.
    Connecting to diff.cpanel.net[198.66.78.11]:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 208,882 [application/x-rpm]

    0K .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... 24% 1.28 MB/s
    50K .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... 49% 3.76 MB/s
    100K .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... 73% 2.03 MB/s
    150K .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... 98% 2.71 MB/s
    200K ... 100% 3.89 MB/s

    10:07:28 (2.12 MB/s) - `pure-ftpd-1.0.20-10.tls.i386.rpm' saved [208882/208882]

    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    Attempting to restart ftpserver
    Waiting for ftpserver to restart....
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    finished.


    ftpserver status nobody 18323 0.0 0.4 4352 2168 ? S 10:08 0:00 proftpd: (accepting connections)



    ftpserver started ok
    Install Complete


    Ftp Server Install Complete
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Looks like you have a corrupt rpm database. You could try:

    rm -fv /var/lib/rpm/__db*
    rpm --rebuilddb -v -v


    That last command may take some time to run through. when it is finished, give the pure-ftpd installation another go:

    /scripts/ftpup --force
     
  3. maaking

    maaking Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thank you chirby,

    i did it but i think there is an error also:

    here is the ssh screen:

    1-
    root@XXXXXX [~]# rm -fv /var/lib/rpm/__db*

    removed `/var/lib/rpm/__db.001'

    2-
    root@XXXXXX[~]# rpm --rebuilddb -v -v

    D: rebuilding database /var/lib/rpm into /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.27201
    D: creating directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.27201
    D: opening old database with dbapi 3
    D: opening db environment /var/lib/rpm/Packages create:cdb:mpool
    rpmdb: write: 0xbfffd4c0, 8192: Invalid argument
    error: db4 error(22) from dbenv->open: Invalid argument
    D: opening db index /var/lib/rpm/Packages rdonly mode=0x0
    error: cannot open Packages index
    D: removing directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.27201
     
  4. nickb

    nickb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Do you have LES installed if yes then ...

    Code:
    cd /var/lib/rpm/
    chattr -i *
    rebuild the rpm database and then try to switch ftp.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You may also have other processes locking the database. To check you should run:

    lsof | grep /var/lib/rpm

    And kill off any processes that have a lock and then redo the rebuild. You could, of course, have a completely corrupt rpm database and then things get very difficult indeed.
     
  6. Alexandre

    Alexandre Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I think I can help you:)

    You can fix the problem in this way

    export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.2.5
    rpm --rebuilddb
    rpm --initdb
    /scripts/ftpup pure-ftpd --force
    :) :) :) :) :)
     
  7. maaking

    maaking Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thank you guys for help.

    here again what i've done in the ssh:

    suggested by: Alexandre
    1-
    root@xxxx [/]# rpm --rebuilddb
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index

    2-
    root@xxxx [/]# rpm --initdb
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
    -------------------------------------------------
    suggested by: nickb
    root@xxxx [/var/lib/rpm]# chattr -i *

    result nothing.

    -------------------------------------------------------
    suggested by: chirpy

    when i run this, nothing appears.
    1-
    root@xxxx [/]# lsof | grep /var/lib/rpm

    2-
    root@xxxx [/]# cd /var/lib/rpm/
    root@xxxx [/var/lib/rpm]# ls
    ./ Basenames __db.001 Filemd5s Installtid Name Providename Pubkeys Requireversion Sigmd5
    ../ Conflictname Dirnames Group mail/ Packages Provideversion Requirename Sha1header Triggername

    root@xxxx [/var/lib/rpm]# rm -fv /var/lib/rpm/__db*
    removed `/var/lib/rpm/__db.001'
    root@xxxx [/var/lib/rpm]# rpm --rebuilddb -v -v
    D: rebuilding database /var/lib/rpm into /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.23885
    D: creating directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.23885
    D: opening old database with dbapi 3
    D: opening db environment /var/lib/rpm/Packages create:cdb:mpool
    rpmdb: write: 0xbfffd4b0, 8192: Invalid argument
    error: db4 error(22) from dbenv->open: Invalid argument
    D: opening db index /var/lib/rpm/Packages rdonly mode=0x0
    error: cannot open Packages index
    D: removing directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.23885
    root@xxxx [/var/lib/rpm]#


    for somehow i cannot update appache to install GD and PHPsuEXEC or switching to Pure-ftpd.

    :confused: :confused: :confused:

    here is what i have in the rpm dir.
    root@xxxx [/var/lib/rpm]# ls
    ./ Basenames __db.001 Filemd5s Installtid Name Providename Pubkeys Requireversion Sigmd5
    ../ Conflictname Dirnames Group mail/ Packages Provideversion Requirename Sha1header Triggername
    root@serv1 [/var/lib/rpm]#


    thank you
     
    #7 maaking, Sep 2, 2005
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2005
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Are you using a custom kernel rather than the OS supplied one?

    I would suggest rerunning this from Alexandre's last post now that the database is no longer locked (which is why it failed initially):

    export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.2.5
    rpm --rebuilddb -v -v


    If it still fails with the same error then it appears to be a corrupt rpm database. Unless you have an identical server where you could take a copy of the rpm database to use (though not a great idea) you may well be looking at an OS restore.
     
  9. maaking

    maaking Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i upgraded the kernel to 2.6.11.

    so, i should do this:
    export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.6.11
    rpm --rebuilddb -v -v



    thanks again.
     
  10. maaking

    maaking Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    this is the reult of the command given by Alexandre.

    root@xxxxx[/var/lib/rpm]# export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.6.11
    root@xxxxx[/var/lib/rpm]# rpm --rebuilddb -v -v
    D: rebuilding database /var/lib/rpm into /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.17583
    D: creating directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.17583
    D: opening old database with dbapi 3
    D: opening db environment /var/lib/rpm/Packages joinenv
    rpmdb: unable to join the environment
    error: db4 error(11) from dbenv->open: Resource temporarily unavailable
    D: opening db index /var/lib/rpm/Packages rdonly mode=0x0
    error: cannot open Packages index
    D: removing directory /var/lib/rpmrebuilddb.17583
    root@xxxxx[/var/lib/rpm]#
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No, you need to do it as posted, the whole point is to fool rpm about the kernel that you're actually using.
     
  12. webz05

    webz05 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i was having the same issue, now when i do the ftp install it keeps installing pro-ftpd witch i dont want to use
     
  13. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Check in WHM > FTP Configuration > if it's set to pure-ftpd, set it to proftpd and save it, then try switchng it back over to pure-ftpd. If it's still set to proftpd there, just change it to pure-ftpd again. If it still fails to switch to pure-ftpd log a ticket with your cpanel license provider to get it sorted out.
     
Loading...

Share This Page