The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pure-ftpd login issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by devonblzx, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. devonblzx

    devonblzx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    One of our users when they try to login just sees a blank directory listing. No error messages are given and the permissions look okay for the directory. I replaced the username with USER for this purpose...

    Is there a more specific pure-ftpd error log other than what is in messages?

    /var/log/messages:
    Jul 29 07:47:40 host pure-ftpd: (?@32.169.112.151) [INFO] USER is now logged in
    Jul 29 07:47:48 host pure-ftpd: (USER@32.169.112.151) [INFO] Logout.

    # ls -l /home | grep USER
    drwx--x--x 19 USER USER 4096 Jul 29 07:46 USER/

    # cat /etc/passwd | grep USER
    USER:x:32038:32040::/home/USER:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell


    any ideas what could be the issue?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try:

    1. Stopping Pure-FTPd
    2. Enable VerboseLog in /etc/pure-ftpd.conf:
    Code:
    VerboseLog    yes
    VerboseLog    yes
    
    3. Restart Pure-FTPd:
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/pure-ftpd start
    
    That should enable more verbose logging in /var/log/messages
     
  3. koolcards

    koolcards Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    I saw that behavior a long time ago and believe it was the customer's client, at the time. Something about their version of CuteFTP (if I remember correctly) not communicating correctly with updated server versions.
    Don't know if that's the situation here or not but they upgraded to a newer version and the problem was fixed.
     
Loading...

Share This Page