The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pureftp keeps switching back to proftpd

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alareach, Sep 27, 2003.

  1. alareach

    alareach Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Anyone using pureftp notice problems with this?

    We switched some servers to pureftp and about a week later the proftpd is enabled again. We don't do it, and even uncheck the proftpd in the service manager but then about a week or so later, we find proftpd running with about 100+ cpu load and have to kill it off and then click ftp manager in WHM and see that it shows proftpd enabled again without our doing anything to change it.

    Any ideas?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Jemshi

    Jemshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    we had same problem with proftpd taking too much load - but switching to pureftp solved that - never seen that switching back to pro.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. alareach

    alareach Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just happened on another box, was running pureftp and even had proftpd disabled in the service manager in WHM but proftpd was running (an using a huge amount of resources as well) so I had to kill it and use the FTP manager to reinstall pureftp.

    <edit> Make that 2 boxes in one hour! In addition, it is starting dozens of instances of proftpd when this happens.</edit>

    :mad:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #3 alareach, Sep 29, 2003
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2003
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Do you have both installed?

    rpm -q proftpd

    rpm -q pure-ftpd

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. alareach

    alareach Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi Nick,
    Last login: Mon Sep 29 16:58:33 2003 from *
    root@* [~]# rpm -q proftpd
    package proftpd is not installed
    root@* [~]# rpm -q pure-ftpd
    pure-ftpd-1.0.12-26cpanel


    From my experience so far, about a week or so later, I start seeing proftpd running in top and go into whm and see the ftp settings offer to let me change to pureftp again. It does not seem to happen 'because' of anything (e.g. cpanel update)
    I will open a ticket if needed, just wanted to find out if this was just us.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    in my experience, that usually happens under load, whm tries to switch, but proftpd doesn't die properly. You just need to kill -KILL proftpd and restart pure

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page