The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pureftpd quota's option

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Faces, Feb 22, 2005.

  1. Faces

    Faces Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Afternoon,

    Recently, my service has become to large to allow free range of FTP access, so im restricting FTP accounts to x mb. However, i've just been testing the quota, and it does'nt actually do anything when you go over your limit?

    I can upload free'ly, download free'ly, just the same as aswell, except there is a .ftpquota file in the folder.

    Which is my next concern.

    I set the test folder quota to 5megs. (5 in the quota box) and in the file its as:

    I was under the impression the first number is the amount of files, and the second is max size in bytes?

    Also, if im a user, i can easily download the file, change the second number, re-upload and have a quota size to my wish.

    I have searched, and came up with 4 threads, all useless.

    Is this is all one big bug, or even just not developed yet.

    Any information appreciated.

    PS: Panel Build 10.0.0-EDGE 38
     
  2. Faces

    Faces Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone? :(
     
  3. muppet

    muppet Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We're having this same issue on our cpanel site. Quotas are ignored and on the FTP accounts screen it says "No accounts have quotas configured". Is there a solution? Every thread I've found here and elsewhere is a dead end. Help?!
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If no-one has an idea here, you'll either need to pop over to the pure-ftpd site to investigate further, or seek support from your cPanel license provider or cPanel directly. If it's a reproducable bug over different accounts, log it in bugzilla.
     
  5. lostinspace

    lostinspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    This same issue seems to be limited to certain cpanel users on our servers. Weird.
     
  6. lostinspace

    lostinspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Woohoo, got it! At least in my case anyway.

    The users "etc" folder was missing so the ftp quota setting couldn't write to the "ftpquota" file that resides in there. Guess it won't create the folder automatically.
     
  7. muppet

    muppet Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    that doesn't help with virtual FTP users though.
     
Loading...

Share This Page