Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

PuTTY Configuration Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yanko, Mar 26, 2014.

  1. yanko

    yanko Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    i try to install fantastico deluxe in my cpanel.
    my whm version 11.32.7
    I watch some tutorials
    -they used putty for install that
    Error1.png
    - fail login using the user:root
    error2.png
    -another error: i connected with other user but i can't install
    error4.png
    ty for read my question
    sorry, my english is so so bad
    Regards
     
  2. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is this your server or a shared server? If it is a shared server your not going to be able to install this as a user. If it is your server you might have root logins disabled, login with your name and su root to change to root then install.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Unfortunately, assuming that your profile is correct and you are simply a reseller on somebody else's cPanel server, you will be unable to install software on the server as only the system admins with root access are able to do this.

    Incase you are actually a Root Admin., you need to use a public/private key to login and you will have to su root. Password authentication and "PermitRootLogin" has been disabled by the looks of your screenshot.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Lol didn't I just say that :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That's my bad, rhenderson. I left to do something and upon my return, without refreshing, I posted. Obviously you beat me to it. Well played sir. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Lol, no problem :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. yanko

    yanko Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Please what is my error at picture3 in my question.
    Iam reseller on bluehost
    how i can update my cpanel or whm
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,517
    Likes Received:
    425
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    /cgi is not a directory. /cgi/ is.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. yanko

    yanko Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    hi again
    i follow this steps
    /https://www.crucialp.com/resources/tutorials/dedicated-server/how-to-install-installing-fantastico-cpanel-whm.php
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,517
    Likes Received:
    425
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Sorry.

    You appear to be logged in as a cPanel user with shell access to your account. You might want to contact your Hosting Provider and ask them to install this for you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice