Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Query concerning empty WP database on a subdomain

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by AbZu, Aug 21, 2017.

  1. AbZu

    AbZu Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have created a subdomain on my main hosting site and successfully installed WP on it. Plan to transfer the site using the Duplicator plugin to the main site, which is NOT a WP site, There is a factor that I believe needs to be solved before making the migration.

    1: cPanel> File Manager contains the sub domain folders:
    wp.mainsite.com
    /cgi-bin
    /wp
    2: cPanel> File Manager root:home/mainsite
    3: php MyAdmin
    + mainsite_wp10 (contains all of the files of the mainsite)
    + mainsite_wpx ( WP database is empty, this is the subdomain where WP has been installed )
    4: MySQL Database
    database: mainsite_wp10 size: 1.54 MB (main site)
    database: mainsite_wpx size: 0.00 MB (subdomain with WP installed)

    Both sites have users correctly added with full privileges. The WP site has been completed and visible when the URL is loaded to a browser.

    So my question is: why do I have an empty database in my WP installation and how can I solve it? TIA
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Can you open phpMyAdmin from the cPanel interface and verify the database in-question is actually empty?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. AbZu

    AbZu Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you for your reply. Yes it is empty. When the database is viewed in phpMyAdmin >> No tables found in database.
    This is the database I created with full user privileges and corresponds to the subdomain that I created on the localhost. When in the installation of WP is viewed in cPanel/FileManager all the contents of the installed site are visible.
     
  4. AbZu

    AbZu Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Attaching a screen shot.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you report this issue to your web hosting provider so they can take a closer look to see why that database isn't populated with data? This isn't something you can do without root access to the system.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. AbZu

    AbZu Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice