Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Query concerning empty WP database on a subdomain

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by AbZu, Aug 21, 2017.

  1. AbZu

    AbZu Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have created a subdomain on my main hosting site and successfully installed WP on it. Plan to transfer the site using the Duplicator plugin to the main site, which is NOT a WP site, There is a factor that I believe needs to be solved before making the migration.

    1: cPanel> File Manager contains the sub domain folders:
    wp.mainsite.com
    /cgi-bin
    /wp
    2: cPanel> File Manager root:home/mainsite
    3: php MyAdmin
    + mainsite_wp10 (contains all of the files of the mainsite)
    + mainsite_wpx ( WP database is empty, this is the subdomain where WP has been installed )
    4: MySQL Database
    database: mainsite_wp10 size: 1.54 MB (main site)
    database: mainsite_wpx size: 0.00 MB (subdomain with WP installed)

    Both sites have users correctly added with full privileges. The WP site has been completed and visible when the URL is loaded to a browser.

    So my question is: why do I have an empty database in my WP installation and how can I solve it? TIA
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,080
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Can you open phpMyAdmin from the cPanel interface and verify the database in-question is actually empty?

    Thank you.
     
  3. AbZu

    AbZu Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you for your reply. Yes it is empty. When the database is viewed in phpMyAdmin >> No tables found in database.
    This is the database I created with full user privileges and corresponds to the subdomain that I created on the localhost. When in the installation of WP is viewed in cPanel/FileManager all the contents of the installed site are visible.
     
  4. AbZu

    AbZu Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Attaching a screen shot.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,080
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you report this issue to your web hosting provider so they can take a closer look to see why that database isn't populated with data? This isn't something you can do without root access to the system.

    Thank you.
     
  6. AbZu

    AbZu Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page