The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about disk and bandwdith used.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by elyask87, Jan 3, 2007.

  1. elyask87

    elyask87 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I created an account (using a non-existant name and tld) so that I could use it using http://hostname/~username/.

    I set limits on bandwidth and space, then used SSH to download some files using wget to a folder inside public_html/ (downloaded around 400mb). This was last night

    I logged in this morning to CPanel using http://IPaddress/cpanel and in "Disk Space Usage" right went I log in (on the left with other info) it shows 0.14 megabytes (although there is around 400mb of data). Under the "Disk Space Usage" page it shows the folder with the stuff I downloaded with the correct amount I've downloaded.

    Deleted the datastore folder, but still the same.

    Bandwidth used is showing 0.00 although some downloads of the files were made.

    WHM showing same thing, 0MB used as disk usage.

    Other accounts are displaying the data correctly on both locations.

    So my question is: does it take time for CPanel to update this info? Or is something wrong with this account in particular?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. Scotty_B

    Scotty_B Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    As far as I know, cPanel keeps track of bandwidth using by using the hostname so what you are trying to do won't work.
     
  3. elyask87

    elyask87 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What about the disk usage?

    Shouldn't bandwidth be tracked by hostname, domain and IP address though? If you mean viewing site by http://hostname/~username won't work, it is working for some reason then on my server :confused:

    Thanks
     
  4. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Scotty_B means that if you view the site using that method it will not account for bandwidth. It will account for the bandwidth of the main domain you use.

    Ie .


    http://mydomain.com/~bob

    The bandwidth will be taken away for the account mydomain.com not the account with the username bob.

    Sorry Scotty_B didnt see you was still online.

    The files you downloaded did you use SSH Root?, or a SHH account for that account?
     
  5. Scotty_B

    Scotty_B Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Diskusage is tracked by file ownership, I beleive thats cached though so should update eventually.

    Access by hostname/~user would track the bandwidth usage to the hostname, hence there is an option to disable it somewhere in WHM to prevent hosting customers using that to link to large downloads and circumvent the data xfer being attributed to their account.
     
  6. elyask87

    elyask87 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ah thanks for clarifying the bandwidth issue (luckily this is just a personal server ;) ).
    I downloaded the files to the account as root through SSH.

    I've deleted some large files from an account which I know has the correct amount used and it updated in the "Disk Space Usage" page (the one with directories) and the one as you log in is still unchanged. So I'm hoping this is a caching issue.

    Thanks for the info, if it remains unchanged for another day I'll probably be lurking here again :rolleyes:
     
  7. elyask87

    elyask87 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I think there might be something wrong now...
    Well I deleted some files from another account, they didn't update in real time (caching issue), but few minutes later. Under "Tweak Settings" there is an option to stop caching, if it's off it takes around 15 minutes to update disk usage (but mine hasn't updated overnight for this particular account). So I turned off the caching, but it's still at 0.14.

    Surely the disk usage cache should update overnight? Now could this be a problematic sign?

    Thanks
     
  8. yapluka

    yapluka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Make sure the files are owned by "username" otherwise they won't count under the space used by this account.
    If you wget them under root and didn't chown them, chances are they are owned by root.
     
Loading...

Share This Page