The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about dns cluster : 2 cpanel srv + 4 dns only

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Schwibby, Oct 11, 2013.

  1. Schwibby

    Schwibby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    hello i have this situation

    2 cpanel web server and 4 dns only cpanel

    now i followed cluster guide but i don't understand if my config is realy ok or work only for luck...

    this screen is about 1 of 2 cpanel web server ( they are mirrored in config)

    cp1.png

    and this screen is about 1 of 4 dns only server: ( they are also mirrored in config)

    dns1.png



    the configuration is ok? or i have to change it ? help please the guide is not very "clear" for me
     
  2. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I am not sure what do you mean "mirrored in config".

    I would suggest this setup:

    1st Cpanel server:
    WRITE ONLY dns1
    WRITE ONLY dns2
    WRITE ONLY dns3
    WRITE ONLY dns4

    2nd Cpanel server:
    WRITE ONLY dns1
    WRITE ONLY dns2
    WRITE ONLY dns3
    WRITE ONLY dns4

    In this scenario, records won't be shared between Cpanel servers, however, you will see all zones in both servers when listing zones (it's shortfall of current DNS clustering)
     
  3. Schwibby

    Schwibby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    but if i want to see in both cpanel server all dns zone my scenario is correct?

    in your version of the cluster the two servers are isolated at level dns right? I always prefer to see all the areas where it is not a problem....
     
  4. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In my setup you will see all zones in both servers, because Cpanel servers will pull all DNS zones from DNSOnly servers.

    I do not recommend adding Cpanel server into other Cpanel server cluster. It will only cause problems and mess.

    Unless you need to have same local zone files in both Cpanel servers don't add Cpanel servers to cluster.
     
  5. Schwibby

    Schwibby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    now i have 250+ dns zone... do you think i can switch to your configuration without lost anything? (from sync change to write only) ?

    in the 4 cpanel dns only che cpanel webserver have to stay configured to standalone?
     
  6. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes you can change, nothing will disappear from cpanel servers.

    Yes, they should be standalone.

    Usually, when i am setting up DNS systems, i uncheck box Setup "Reverse Trust Relationship" so no Setup is done on DNSonly boxes.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, there is no need to add the cPanel hosting servers to each others cluster configuration. Beyond that, the configuration on your DNS-Only servers is fine, and the other entries in your hosting servers cluster configuration are accurate.

    Thank you.
     
  8. Schwibby

    Schwibby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    hello !

    do you think should cp2 removed from the cluster? cp2 is another cpanel server...

    now my last configuration on both cpanel server ( changing cp2 and cp3) is this :

    now.png

    is correct?
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page