The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

question about fantastico

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ljwhite, Apr 16, 2006.

  1. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does Fantastico get updated automatically? How could i know which verison i am using now and how could i have the latest version installed? Many thanks in advance.
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The version number is visible when you log into it via WHM.

    Whether it gets updated automatically or not is based on fantastico configuration settings. You can either choose to have it updated automatically or via a menu option. I have it done automatically (via a cron job, the fantastico forums give more info).

    More info at the netenberg forums - go there for any more detail.
     
  4. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for your help. But when i log in whm, i did not see the version of fantastico, could you tell me the exact place ?
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You first need to install Fantastico. To do that you need to purchase it.

    More reading.
     
  6. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Fantastico is already in my cpanel.
     
  7. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Login to WHM. Go to the bottom of the menu in the left column, look for "Fantastico De Luxe WHM Admin" and click on that. The version number is prominently displayed on the resulting screen. ;)
     
  8. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The bottom of the menu in the left column is "Restart Services". I could not find the word "fantastico" in WHM. Maybe we use different styles of WHM.
     
  9. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Probably you just have an antique version of Fantastico. The old version required you to login to a separate Fantastico account to do admin. The new version appears down the bottom of the WHM menu and is integrated into WHM.

    Based on that, I'd say you have an antique version of Fantastico. Perhaps check the version of a few of the things it installs, for instance, phpBB should be version 2.0.20 I think. Then go over and check out the boards at netenberg.com - really this isn't the right place to ask detailed questions about Fantastico! It could well be just as simple as you needing to uninstall and reinstall Fantastico.
     
  10. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for your help!
     
  11. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi brianoz, Can you do me a favor? How do you know i have an antique version of Fantastico? Is your fantastico already integrated with whm when you got whm? Or it is installed in another way? When i visit http://www.cpanel.net/, i did not see any information about "fantastico is integrated with whm".
     
  12. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Huh? This is getting a little worrying. Really, you're going to have to do some basic research of your own here instead of using cpanel.net to do all your work.

    Cpanel doesn't make Fantastico, netenberg.com does. That's already been mentioned several times in this thread by myself and others. So I'm not surprised cpanel.net doesn't mention anything about Fantastico. Go read about it at the netenberg.com forums. If you can't find the netenberg.com forums for Fantastico you won't get any further by yourself - and should hire someone to help you do what you're trying to do.

    Ancient version of Fantastico? I know, because once I had the version of Fantastico which you (may) have. It's also possible you're a reseller, and if you are, you won't see the Fantastico admin menu entry as it's only shown when root logs in to WHM, regardless of what version of Fantastico you have.
     
  13. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry to trouble you many times. Thanks for your help!
     
  14. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Pretty much everything you need to know about Fantastico is at that link I provided.
     
  15. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks! I went to fantastico forum and got many helps there.
     
  16. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well done :) Sorry for getting a bit crusty back there...
     
  17. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It does not matter. Thanks for your help!
     
Loading...

Share This Page