The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about hostname ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kaspersky, Nov 8, 2006.

  1. kaspersky

    kaspersky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Dear admin.
    After i used hostname server.domain1.com assign ip xxx.xxx.xxx.185
    I want change hostname is server.domain2.com and ip assign for it is xxx.xxx.xxx,186
    i had been changed hostname server.domain2.com but it assign ip xxx.xxx.xxx.185.
    Thanks so much !
     
  2. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't really see your question. The hostname is for the main servers IP.
     
  3. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    check in your /etc/hosts file to see if server.domain2.com is having the .186

    make sure the A record for server.domain2.com resolved to .186 as well.
     
  4. kaspersky

    kaspersky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks so much
    I have a question , i hope u help me.
    I want remove ip had been registered with ICANN register
    this xxx.xxx.xxx.184 had been assign nameserver . and i want remove nameserver to.
    Thank u !
     
  5. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    are you getting this message from the WHM? If yes, you may edit the /etc/nameserverips to reflect the new IPs.
     
  6. kaspersky

    kaspersky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Thanks for support !
    i had been edit ( cut )
    file /etc/nameserverips

    But i go to Assigned Nameserver Ips .
    i see xxx.xxx.xxx.184 ns1.oldomain.com [remove]
    I think .I must edit other local file on server
    U lets try check again for me.
    THanks !
     
Loading...

Share This Page