The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about mounting a drive [moved]

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kaveyhosting, Apr 20, 2005.

  1. Kaveyhosting

    Kaveyhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Question about mounting a drive

    Is there any way to mount a second hard drive in cpanel without formatting it? The drive I need to mount has backups of all of my sites. I went to do the mount in cpanel and realized it was going to erase the drive then I did Man mount in shell and I think I understand their instructions but im afraid to run much because if it messes something up it will take the dc 3 days to fix. If there is no way in cpanel can anyone tell me if this is the correct command to mount a drive in shell?

    The drive name he gave me was hdb
    mount /old/hdb
    Would that be the right command to mount the drive to a directory called old? Thanks for the answers.
     
  2. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    You can temporarily mount with mkdir /mnt/olddrive; mount /dev/hdb /mnt/olddrive

    You can then access the drive at /mnt/olddrive. If it's going to stay on the server, you can setup fstab for it.
     
  3. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    To mount a drive or partition in an ssh session

    # fdisk -l

    Will list all the drives and partitions. Look for the hdb one, you should see /dev/hdbx x being a number.

    If it was your old drive, you may see several partitions.

    To mount them

    eg

    # cd /

    # mkdir oldusr

    # mount /dev/hdbx oldusr

    hdbx would be the correct partition number, eg /dev/hdb2

    Do that for each partition, mkdir oldhome oldroot as required and mount them.
     
  4. Kaveyhosting

    Kaveyhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ty all.. I got them all restored and now when you go to the site you get a 403 forbidden... any clue? Freshly loaded os and cpanel. I restarted the nameservers after the change
     
  5. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Try

    # /scripts/enablefileprotect

    or

    Make sure that the public_html for each user is chowned $user:nobody
     
Loading...

Share This Page