Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Question about Partition size

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by userkhan724, Oct 19, 2017.

  1. userkhan724

    userkhan724 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, I'm new in Linux, I have a VPS and set 430GB hard to this but I see my Cpanel just use 17GB of this space .see result of this comment pls :
    Code:
    [root@server ~]# df
    Filesystem     1K-blocks     Used Available Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda3       17003348 15163412    969536  94% /
    tmpfs           13337844      112  13337732   1% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda1        1983056    53640   1827016   3% /boot
    /dev/sda5      399450184  7845196 371307364   3% /home
    /usr/tmpDSK       495844    18073    452171   4% /tmp
    
    [root@server ~]# df -h
    Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda3        17G   15G  947M  94% /
    tmpfs            13G  112K   13G   1% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda1       1.9G   53M  1.8G   3% /boot
    /dev/sda5       381G  7.5G  355G   3% /home
    /usr/tmpDSK     485M   18M  442M   4% /tmp
    
    [root@server ~]# mount -l
    /dev/sda3 on / type ext4 (rw,usrjquota=quota.user,jqfmt=vfsv0)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
    tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,rootcontext="system_u:eek:bject_r:tmpfs_t:s0")
    /dev/sda1 on /boot type ext4 (rw)
    /dev/sda5 on /home type ext4 (rw,usrjquota=quota.user,jqfmt=vfsv0)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
    /usr/tmpDSK on /tmp type ext3 (rw,noexec,nosuid,loop=/dev/loop0)
    /tmp on /var/tmp type none (rw,noexec,nosuid,bind)
    
    
    381GB of my space is in /dev/sda5 but I do not know how can I use this space in my cpanel I set unlimited disk space in my package (WHM) but nothing happens
     
    #1 userkhan724, Oct 19, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 19, 2017
  2. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Please note that on cPanel server account data stored in /home directory and database stored in /var partition.
    Might be there is large size database on your server and due to that / partition showing 15G used.

    Please paste the output for flowing command so that I can assist you.

    Code:
    cd /
    du -sch * 
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. userkhan724

    userkhan724 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi
    Code:
    [root@server2 ~]# cd /
    [root@server2 /]# du -sch *
    4.0K    backup
    6.9M    bin
    50M     boot
    276K    dev
    8.0K    error_log
    31M     etc
    7.5G    home
    291M    lib
    27M     lib64
    16K     lost+found
    4.0K    media
    4.0K    mnt
    128M    opt
    du: cannot access `proc/31546/task/31546/fd/4': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `proc/31546/task/31546/fdinfo/4': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `proc/31546/fd/4': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `proc/31546/fdinfo/4': No such file or directory
    0       proc
    12K     quota.user
    4.0K    razor-agent.log
    13M     root
    16M     sbin
    0       scripts
    0       selinux
    4.0K    srv
    0       sys
    7.9M    tmp
    4.4G    usr
    9.6G    var
    22G     total
    [root@server2 /]#
    
     
  4. cPWilliamL

    cPWilliamL cP Technical Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What's the specific issue? I'm assuming that you're receiving alerts about the '/' partition filling up? You can try reducing disk usage on '/'. but really, the best solution will be to move '/var/' and likely '/backup/' to their own partition. Not only will this free up space, it will make MySQL less likely to crash, and your backups less likely to cause issues with other services, as well as improve performance. This will either require adding a new disk or re-partitioning your drive, trimming some off '/home/'.

    If you're not familiar with partition drives, I would highly recommend reaching out to your host or system administrator, as it could result in complete data loss. Below are some articles on partitioning:
    How to Resize a Partition using fdisk - Red Hat Customer Portal
    http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Partition/fdisk_partitioning.html
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice