The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about phpsuexec

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Marty, Apr 1, 2003.

  1. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If we run phpsuexec, will this require that php scripts have:

    #!/usr/local/bin/php

    or something similar at the top of each php file for them to be executed?
     
  2. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Nobody knows the answer to this?
     
  3. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I think that you have to add that line only if you run php such as a cgi module (80% sure) . But running such as a cgi module you will not need phpsuexec :D .

    So phpsuexec will permit you to track the user using the .php script (usually identified such as nobody without phpsuexec)
     
  4. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It is my understanding that running phpsuexec means that you are running php as a cgi, but I have seen patches that can be used with phpsuexec that allow you to run it without having to add the "shebang" line to the scripts.

    Note, this quote from Nick in another thread (Click here for other thread!):

    Maybe the point of phpsuexec is that it allows you to use the cgi interface of php without the need for a "shebang" line in the script.
     
    #4 Marty, Apr 2, 2003
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2003
Loading...

Share This Page