The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

question about resellers settings

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by LAZer, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. LAZer

    LAZer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    at net :D
    hi , i have a question about cpanel/whm reseller settings .
    as i have seen there are 4 options for giving cpanel reseller accounts :
    1. unlimited ( full featured )
    2. limited by hard AND bandwidth usage
    3. limited by packages
    4. limited by number of hosts

    so the most useful one for me is resellers limited with hard/bandwidth usage.
    but resellers when buying their account do want the allow oversellings. and also they want to sell accounts with unlimited bandwidth and features ( but not hdd )

    my problem is that when i limit a reseller account by hdd/bw usage , it needs to set a number for bandwidth . and even when the following options are selected for them , they cannot create hosts with unlimited bw .
    what should i do to have a reseller account limited by hdd , but not by bw ?

    these are the options i have selected :
    --> Limit accounts that [reseller] can create by Resource Usage. (Access to packages the user creates is automatically granted unless account creation has been limited to pre-assigned packages below. Access is not automatically granted to system/root created packages unless specifically defined below.)
    --> Overselling Allowed
    --> Specify which packages pdsrvhst can use for account creation. ( i also select my root packages which have unlimited bandwidth )
    --> Allow Creation of Packages with Unlimited Bandwidth

    and also i have tested with activating these options too :
    --> Account Modification (warning: this will allow circumvention of account creation limits, give shell access unless explicitly disallowed, dedicated ips, etc)
    --> Bandwidth Limiting Modification (Warning: This will allow circumvention of account package limits if you are not using resource limits)

    but again when editing an account after creating it with limited bw ( for example 1 TB bw ) , i couldnt assign unlimited bw to the created host.

    it shows this error in creating a new account :
    The following packages have been disabled because they have unlimited bandwidth or quota limits:

    any solutions ?
     
    #1 LAZer, Feb 26, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2012
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Both disk space and bandwidth are required input fields. If you wish to leave one unlimited, simply assign it a very large value. Thus, if you enable "Limit a reseller account by resource usage", "unlimited" is not an acceptable value.

    You can find further documentation on this at:

    Reseller Privileges

    Thank you.
     
  3. LAZer

    LAZer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    at net :D

    hi thanks anyway for your reply but i knew what you told .
    my problem is something similiar to this post :
    http://forums.cpanel.net/f145/split-resource-usage-limit-into-two-options-case-50765-a-214062.html

    i want bw and hdd limits being seperate , which is not done yet and is under investigation. :(
    because even with setting a very high limit for bw , still resellers cant create account with unlimited bandwidth.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, there is an open feature request to separate the resource usage limits for bandwidth and disk space. Remember to add your feedback in that thread if you feel it would be a useful feature.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page