Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Question about Scirpts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wocochoco, Apr 14, 2004.

  1. wocochoco

    wocochoco Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    USA
    Hey all,

    I work at FireWebX.com as a Co-Owner. I help activate accounst and run the site. The big boss Darren is busy with a different site.

    But anyways I am not sure if this is in the right spot. If it isn't just move it.

    So in the script area there is IPB and PHPNuke ect.

    They all work great. The only thing is they are starting to be old versions. I would like to make it where you can install the new ones right from cpanel.

    Is there a way i can do this. If so please explain. All help is appriciated. THANKS!


    P.S. I LOVE CPANEL!!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Unfortunatly there is nothing you can do, if you do a quick search you will find a few people complaining about this. Hopefully cpanel will start to update the scripts or totaly remove them from cpanel as it poses a risk if somebody installs one that has known vulnerabilities.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. wocochoco

    wocochoco Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    USA
    Hey,

    So even if i get the scripts and set them up there is now way i can put it in cpanel?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Nearly anything is possible;)

    As an alternative, you may want to check out a third party autoinstaller or two. I personally use Fantastico and found it to be well worth the price. More scripts available, new scripts are constantly added and scripts are kept up to date.
     
  5. wocochoco

    wocochoco Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    USA
    Hey,

    I don't want another program. We are a free webhost service and don't have the money for that.

    What i would like to do is edit the cpanel where the scripts are and change them.

    Is that possible?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Optical

    Optical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    USA
    I belive this IS possible because i started to do it before my self, I will look into it more and give some feed back
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Optical

    Optical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    USA
    okies here is the folder that cpanel keeps the install files etc for addon scripts


    /usr/local/cpanel/addons/
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice