The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

question about server time

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ljwhite, Jun 29, 2006.

  1. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have many hosted accounts on the server. Some of them are in different places than server. I wonder if i can set different time zones for each of them. So when they use some software in their website, It will display the right/local time and not server time.
    Many thanks in advance!
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    ah NO shared is shared there are some web scripts that will correct the time for their timezone

    horde for example lets you set the timezone
     
  3. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If i install one software in our hosted account, how could i change the time of this software's database?
     
  4. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You'd really have to ask the developers of the software in question.

    In more general terms, the time set on your server is fixed at a single value and there's nothing you can do about that.

    However it is possible for web apps to determine the locale of a visitor and adjust the displayed time accordingly.
     
  5. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I see, thanks for your help. If i change "server time" using WHM, would it cause any problem?
     
Loading...

Share This Page