The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

QUESTION about subdomain redirect

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by KeepeR, Aug 6, 2003.

  1. KeepeR

    KeepeR Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello all !
    the question is this:
    i have created account for user without a domain
    so it looked like this: mydomain.com/~user/
    i created subdomain and redirected it to that link
    so it was user.mydomain.com
    but when you go to subdomain you see in address bar that ugly address mydomain.com/~user/
    how do you setup subdomain that way so it will be showing in address bar and not where it was redirected to ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #1 KeepeR, Aug 6, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2003
  2. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    I'm not sure, but i think the only way to do this would be a frame forward. but why not just setup the client in cpanel as the subdomain? it works just the same.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. KeepeR

    KeepeR Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well, that would work to, but how do i do that ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually, I think it is because you are using a forward. When forwarding, your just telling it to point somewhere, and that is what it does. The solution would be not to forward to yourdomain.com/~user, but just have it set as its own subdomain. user.yourdomain.com should remain intact at that point. Its the fact that your telling it to redirect to yourdomain.com/~user that it is showing that...make sense?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. KeepeR

    KeepeR Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well
    probably thats right
    but how then i provide cpanel to my costumer under subdomain.mydomain.com ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you want them to have a sub-domain, as well as their own control panel, you would go to WHM and add it as a regular account. When setting it up, just enter sub.yourdomain.com as the url. This will give them a sub-domain as well as their own cpanel and eliminates the redirect problem that you were having. Just to clarify, am I understanding your question/issue correctly?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. KeepeR

    KeepeR Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    THANK YOU Tom Pyles
    That is exactly what i needed and that worked great !!!
    so you been 100% on target, and helped me out a bunch !

    thanks agein and good luck !

    P.S. thanks to all that also been helping me and coming up with ideas !

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    KeepeR,
    No problem...glad it worked for you.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page