The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

question about "transfer account"

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ljwhite, May 29, 2006.

  1. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    One customer wants to transfer his account from another host server to our host server. I never done this before. Can anyone show me the steps with details? Many thanks in advance!
     
  2. Saloni

    Saloni Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You could transfer account using Account transfer option in WHM. It will work fine for the account about 3GB.

    You can copy account from another server via whm >> Copy an account from another server

    This allows you to copy an account from another server without that account's password. You will need the root password of the server that the account resides on.


    have root password it can still be done see: 'Copy an account from another server with account password' in WHM.
     
  3. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for your help. I think i should do in the below steps.
    1. point his domain name to our DNS server.
    2. use whm->copy an account from another server without that account's password(this one looks easier than "Copy an account from another server"^-^). when i click "copy an account from another server without that account's password", i get the below information.
    Server to copy from (ip or FQDN): I will input ip of the server that the account resides on now.
    Domain Name (only required if web root protection is enabled on the remote server):should i input our client's domain name here?i do not know if web root protection is enabled on the remote server.
    Username to copy: I will ask our client.
    User's password:I will ask our client.
    Give new account an ip address: I think now it is not nessesary, i will uncheck this box.
    The Remote Server must be cPanel3 or later. If the server that the account resides on now does not use cpanel, then i cannot use this function to transfer his account, right?
    Another question, if i use "copy an account from another server without that account's password", could it also copy all the emails to our host server?
     
    #3 ljwhite, May 30, 2006
    Last edited: May 30, 2006
  4. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    the remote server must be running Cpanel server as this script only works for Cpanel to Cpanel server transfer.

    it will transfer all the account over and restore to your server including website files, web logs, emails and databases.
     
  5. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for your help.
    If the remote server is not running Cpanel server, how could i copy his account?
    So it will copy all the exsiting emails to our host server, right?
     
  6. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you may need to zip the files , copy over to your server via ftp / scp, untar and restore the files.

    Yes
     
  7. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for your great help! One more question: if If the remote server is not running Cpanel server, i should get the zip file of website/database, right? But how about the existing emails, how could i get zip file of emails?
     
  8. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    for website files, you may tar and upload it to your server and untar to the user's home directory. I would recommend you to export / dump the MySQL database in .sql and import it into your server from the remote server.

    With regards to the email, it will depends on the remote mail server type as as far as I can tell, if the remote mail server is running different mail server then yours, you will have difficult to import back the mails back to your mail server due to the mail server architecture.
     
  9. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for your help. Now i know the remote server that the account resides on now is using Ensim as control panel instead. I have no idea about "Ensim". So what is the best way to transfer his website/database/exsitingmail?
     
  10. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you choose the "Copy an account from another server" option, you should be able to transfer over for the account by choosing enXim 3.x
     
  11. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for your great help!
    When i go to whm->Copy an account from another server, i get the below information.
    Server to copy from (ip or FQDN): my client has given it to me.
    Server root password:which server? My server? Or the server that the account resides on now.
    Username to copy:i will ask the provider of the server that the account resides on now.
    Give new account an ip address:It is not necessary. I will uncheck.
    Skip Copying Reseller Privs: I am not sure if i should check this box.
    Remote Server is:I will choose "enXim 3.x". one question: is enxim the same with ensim?
    Setup:Should i also input the information below the "setup" button?
    Remote SSH port:22
    User with su access (only if root ssh login is disabled):access to which server?My server? Or the server that the account resides on now.
    User with su access password: same question as the above one.
    Use Ftp to transfer cpmove files (requires a user with su and ftp access): i do not know if i should check this one.
     
  12. ljwhite

    ljwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Now i think i would like to transfer it manually because i do not think i can get root password of remote server. But i do not know how to transfer exsiting emails on Ensim server to cpanel server. Anyone can help me? Many thanks in advance!
     
Loading...

Share This Page