The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

question about yum

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dhecker, Jul 10, 2005.

  1. dhecker

    dhecker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hello -

    I'm on Fedora FC2, and I had the 'empty rpm list' problem. I asked the tech at my isp to install YUM, which he did. However, he said that he wasn't sure which mirrors to put in the config. Now I am searching for other rpms which everyone seems to have on their list, but I don't!

    I've noticed that when I view the rpm list through whm (install an rpm) the first in the list always says 'error:'.

    Is there any reference for 'good mirrors' for yum, etc??

    thanks!!!
     
  2. amal

    amal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try the following commands in SSH and try again

    rm -rf /var/lib/rpm/__*
    rpm --rebuilddb

    :)
     
  3. dhecker

    dhecker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    thanks for your suggestion..

    I tried the command. The first item in the list is still 'error:' but I think I see a few new items in there. What exactly happened?
     
  4. amal

    amal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The rpm database gets corrupted after a recent update.. Not sure of the exact reason for that..

    The command I gave above just does a fresh rpm database rebuild..
     
  5. dhecker

    dhecker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ahh.. thanks!

    It rebuilt, but it seems like the mirrors that are listed in the .conf file aren't the same ones that others have. It's a short list, with errors right in the list!
     
  6. abubin

    abubin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    there are a lot of howto for configuring yum. Just google for that. Then look for the mirrors in redhat fedora's site. You have to look for mirrors that work best for you. But so far, I have not have much problems with the mirrors I chose.

    Code:
    [fedora-us-2]
    name=Fedora Core 2 -- Fedora US mirror
    baseurl=http://download.fedora.us/fedora/fedora/2/i386/RPMS.os
    
    [fedora-us-2-updates]
    name=Fedora Core 2 updates -- Fedora US mirror
    baseurl=http://download.fedora.us/fedora/fedora/2/i386/RPMS.updates
    
    [fedora-us-2-stable]
    name=Fedora Linux (stable) for Fedora Core 2 -- Fedora US mirror
    baseurl=http://download.fedora.us/fedora/fedora/2/i386/RPMS.stable
    
    [crash-hat]
    name=Fedora Core $releasever - $basearch - CrashHat
    baseurl=http://crash.fce.vutbr.cz/crash-hat/$releasever
    
    These are currently the servers i am using for my firewall.
     
  7. dhecker

    dhecker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    thanks

    Hi - thanks for your reply. I have been checking around but I'm still a bit confused. There are some other sections in my yum.com file. It looks like this:

    [main]
    cachedir=/var/cache/yum
    debuglevel=2
    logfile=/var/log/yum.log
    pkgpolicy=newest
    distroverpkg=redhat-release
    tolerant=1
    exactarch=1

    [base]
    #name=Red Hat Linux $releasever - $basearch - Base
    #baseurl=http://mirror.dulug.duke.edu/pub/yum-repository/redhat/$releasever/$ba$
    name=Atomic Rocket Turtle - $releasever - SW-Soft PSA 7.5 RPMS
    baseurl=http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/psa-7.5/$releasever/
    baseurl=http://www.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/psa-7.5/$releasever/

    [updates]
    #name=Red Hat Linux $releasever - Updates
    #baseurl=http://mirror.dulug.duke.edu/pub/yum-repository/redhat/updates/$releas$

    [atomic]
    name=Atomic Rocket Turtle - $releasever - Atomic PSA-Compatible RPMS
    baseurl=http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/art/$releasever/
    baseurl=http://www.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/art/$releasever/

    [atomic-app-vault]
    name=Atomic Rocket Turtle - $releasever - Atomic PSA App Vault RPMS
    baseurl=http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/app-vault/


    So, I'm not exactly sure if i should take anything out , or what!
     
  8. dhecker

    dhecker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ok

    All set now, thanks!

    For some reason, the sources in my yum.conf were constantly failing and the error codes were being picked up WHM as part of the rpm list. So, it was always a short and incomplete list, with errors.

    I have constructed a new list of working servers and everything looks fine now. If anyone else has yum questions, I found the following resource to be helpful:

    http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/answers/189

    thanks, dave
     
Loading...

Share This Page