The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

question on how to do a unique parked domain.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by noimad1, May 1, 2012.

  1. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a customer who would like to have a folder on one of his sites act like an "parked domain" on another one of his sites on the same server.

    So I'm wondering if this is at all possible, maybe by modifying the httpd.conf file? Here is what it would look like:

    http://hisdomain.com/rentals

    would point to:
    http://hisshop.com

    But the domain at http://hisdomain.com/rentals does not change in the address bar but still pulls up his shop on Perfume (he doesn't want a redirect).

    Is this possible?
     
    #1 noimad1, May 1, 2012
    Last edited: May 2, 2012
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Is there any reason he doesn't use an addon domain? An addon domain can point to another folder on the main domain without it redirecting, so he could have that domain point to the rentals folder.

    As for the post, please note that I moved it from the general lounge to cPanel & WHM discussions board, since this is an actual question about performing an action in cPanel. The general lounge is more for non technical questions or discussions.

    Thanks!
     
  3. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for that.

    Well he actually wants it in reverse. He wants the rentals folder to point to the other domain, and he won't let me switch them (which makes more sense to me as well). So I'm kind of wanting to do an addon domain, but from a folder to a domain instead....?
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is the rentals folder not containing the data of that domain? If not, where exactly is the domain located?
     
  5. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  6. ruzbehraja

    ruzbehraja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page