The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question regarding cPanel OS

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mm1250, Feb 28, 2008.

  1. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    I am getting ready to buy a server that is a Dual processor - quad-core Intel Xeon 5420 Hapertown. It will have 8GB RAM. I was reading that there are lots of issues with cPanel if I install x64bit Cent OS.

    So if I intall the 32bit CentOS will the OS not take advantage of all the Processor and the memory I have installed?
     
  2. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    anyone please?
     
  3. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    i used to swear by _64 bit OS and cpanel. truth is ..i never really had any serious problems with it that couldn't be dealt with. HOWEVER having said that ... I would go with 32 bit. I think you get more out of a 32 bit OS and cpanel then you do with 64 bit and way less problems.
     
  4. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This might sound silly but I know Windows XP has a limit of 4GB. Is this the same issue with other 32bit operating systems like CentOS. Considering I have 8GBs of RAM, will it still see the full 8GB and use all of it?
     
  5. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    there is a kernel I think it's identified by PAE at the end of the name ..anyway. It takes care of the 4GB limits on both centos and redhat installs. I think PAE stands for phsical address extension.
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The issue with Windows XP and the 4 GB RAM barrier is an artificial one (they want you to buy their server product). A 32-bit OS should be able to address up to 64 GB of RAM when using the PAE model.
     
  7. karrotx

    karrotx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is it a bad idea to run CentOS x86_64? I was planning on putting up a new installation with 5.1; have the majority of the problems been fixed?
     
  8. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    most of the problems have and I currently run _64 ONLY on my boxes but plan to move back to 32 bit because there is really not that big of a difference (yet)
     
  9. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for your help all.

    I'm going to install CentOS 32bit Verison 5.

    The only reason I was worried was I was buying a 8-core System with 8GB ram and wanted to make sure the 32bit will take full advantage of the hardware.
     
Loading...

Share This Page