Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Question: Setting Up Private Name Servers using one domain & 2 servers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by maxdown, Dec 6, 2006.

  1. maxdown

    maxdown Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    There are probably answers to this problem somewhere within these forums, but searching has brought up confusing scraps and outdated info especially the WHM set up functions - the menu items seem to have changed. I'm currently using WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-C94.

    I'm migrating from Ensim server .... so unfamiliar with the WHM/CPanel way ...

    My requirement is to use a single registered domain to provide 4 name servers over 2 CPanel servers.

    So, my domain 'myhosting.com' has been registered at registrar and been set up to be nameserver using ns1 - ns4 range.

    For the exercise let's say Server 1 at my Data Centre has IPs

    20.10.5.1 (Main IP)
    20.10.5.2

    Server 2 at my Data Centre has IPs

    20.10.5.3 (Main IP)
    20.10.5.4

    My nameservers are then set at registrar to be:

    ns1.myhosting.com - 20.10.5.1
    ns2.myhosting.com - 20.10.5.2
    ns3.myhosting.com - 20.10.5.3
    ns4.myhosting.com - 20.10.5.4

    On Server 1 I want to set up the myhosting.com main web site and other virtual hosts using nameservers ns1.myhosting.com & ns2.myhosting.com

    On Server 2 I want to set up more virtual sites using nameservers ns3.myhosting.com & ns4.myhosting.com

    So - is anybody brave enough to put forward the definitive 'modernised' set up guide for this that gives an error free dnsreport from dnsstuff.com??
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    You may want to look into dns clustering.
     
    #2 jayh38, Dec 6, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2006
  3. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If this can be done with DNS Clustering, does anyone know if I could use one main server and one secondary server to setup the DNS entries, and let the other server(s) grab the domain names & server IP's from the two main servers?

    I have a cPanel & a Plesk server, can this be done?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice