The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ExtremeHS, Feb 8, 2005.

  1. ExtremeHS

    ExtremeHS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have been curious as to how i get WHM/cPanel to email a client (initially) a welcome e-mail stating current login information, current package, Current Limitations (Bandwidth, SSH Acces.. Etc)



    does cPanel offer something like this?
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Check the 2nd link in my sig. ;)

    It has just what you want.
     
  3. ExtremeHS

    ExtremeHS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hrm


    i used PWSpostwwwacct2.txt (renamed to postwwwacct)

    it didnt work (yes its executeable)
     
    #3 ExtremeHS, Feb 9, 2005
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2005
  4. ExtremeHS

    ExtremeHS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    nevermind

    I got it working.. thanx :)
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    No problem.
     
  6. ExtremeHS

    ExtremeHS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Umm

    one thing you wanna do, make sure you warn the users to have the files in the right path before using your "skel" script.. it caused in infinite loop on my server for some reason
     
    #6 ExtremeHS, Feb 9, 2005
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2005
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Using multiple postwwwacct scripts gets tricky. In mine I have the following:
    Code:
    if (-e "/scripts/postwwwacct2") {
        print "\nSending variables to postwwwacct2.\n";
    	system("/scripts/postwwwacct2",@ARGV);
    }
    
    
    and the scripts say if you already have a postwwwacct script, rename it to postwwwacct2. What happens is, when mine is run, it calls postwwwacct2 afterwards and passes the original variables to it. Now if the 2nd one is one of mine, it will also check for a wwwacct2 script which will be itself, and voila, endless looping.

    Did you notice the warning message at the bottom of my postwwwacct scripts page?
     
  8. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I modified the wording before the scripts a little to hopefully make it more clear to others that they need to read the note at the bottom to use multiple postwwwacct scripts.
     
Loading...

Share This Page