The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Questions About Wild Card + subDomain and Park Domain ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cLub2Share, Mar 18, 2006.

  1. cLub2Share

    cLub2Share Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    united Arab Emirates
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Hello


    I hope someone going to give me a hunt/answer on this .. and i have searched all over the net and i dont find any answer.

    i offer a free Image gallery installing. user can go and install their own gallery and the url going to be after installing the gallery

    http://usergallery.thedomainname.com


    i have the Wil card Enable for this domain name .. know a user was asking me to Park the domain name to his gallery

    http://usergallery.thedomainname.com

    so it will be http://www.his-domain.com but i have no idea how can i do this .. dose anyone have any trick or anything to do this .. ?

    Thankyou :)
     
  2. cLub2Share

    cLub2Share Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    united Arab Emirates
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
  3. adept2003

    adept2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ~ "/(extra|special)/data"
    Ensure the domain is using your nameservers, then create a DNS zone for his-domain.com, including the follwing records:

    his-domain.com. 14400 cname usergallery.thedomainname.com.
    www 14400 cname his-domain.com.
     
  4. cLub2Share

    cLub2Share Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    united Arab Emirates
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Hello

    Thanks for the respond i try to add a new Zone to The Main Domain name we use for the gallery

    and i get error



    If i add it without www it work fine .. but when i add www it give me this error .. any idea ?

    Thankyou :)
     
  5. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Add the wild card dns record

    * A <ip>

    edit your httpd.conf vitual host container


    <VirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xxx>
    ServerAlias www.domain.com domain.com *domain.com
    ServerAdmin webmaster@domain.com
    DocumentRoot /home/user/public_html
    BytesLog domlogs/domain.com-bytes_log
    ServerName www.domain.com
    User user
    Group user
    CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/domain.com combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/user/public_html/cgi-bin/
    </VirtualHost>


    service httpd restart
     
  6. cLub2Share

    cLub2Share Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    united Arab Emirates
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    @dalem Thanks for the explain .. but i'm not sure if u understand what i'm trying to do .. did u read my first post ?

    Why do i need to do this

    <VirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xxx>
    ServerAlias www.domain.com domain.com *domain.com


    i already have Edit it so the Wild Card work .. and it work fine .. know i'm trying to park the domain name to one of the subdomain name we use ... i'm not sure if this is what u explain or what ?

    Thankyou :)
     
  7. cLub2Share

    cLub2Share Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    united Arab Emirates
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Hello

    i really need support on this could anyone please help me ?

    Thanks :)
     
  8. cLub2Share

    cLub2Share Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    united Arab Emirates
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
  9. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    If i read your post correctly, you just want to park your client domain to his gallery subdomain which is in your server, correct ?

    If this is what you want, i think the best step is using your WHM and at "DNS Functions" click Park Domain.

    Park your client domain and pointed to his subdomain website at your server.

    But don't forget to change the domain DNS to your DNS at his/her registrar.
     
  10. cLub2Share

    cLub2Share Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    united Arab Emirates
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Hello

    Thanks for the Help.. i dont think that going to help me .. as i know that options going to park a domain name to anther domain name ... and not a subdomain name etc.. i have try it already before and give me wrong ip or something like this ..


    Like what i say before in my first post .. i have the Wild Card Enable In the Domain name .. whatever user going to sign for their Gallery it is going to Creat a subdomain and not a subfolder .. it is just a subdomain name . that what i'm trying to park the domian name.. i hope really someone can help me on this .. because i know there is such way to do this .. but i'm not very familer with Cpanel .. hopefully someone will have the answer

    Thanks.
    club2share
     
  11. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Yes.. this is possible and I can do it for you. We will not use any options from WHM or Cpanel you will have to do it manually and beleive me it is very simple and wil not take more than 2 mins.
    moosaz_19@hotmail.com is my MSN
     
  12. cLub2Share

    cLub2Share Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    united Arab Emirates
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    thanks for the help and i hope you understand what i mean .. or what i wanted about parked a domain name to a subdomain .. i'm not sure what u are going to do .. but just in case could you please explain how this could be done.. so maybe i understand this and not west your time if this is what i need or not ?

    Thanks alot :)
     
  13. cLub2Share

    cLub2Share Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    united Arab Emirates
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Hello

    Could someone please Answer this thread :rolleyes:
     
Loading...

Share This Page