The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quick Drive Question,

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AlphaNate, Nov 15, 2005.

  1. AlphaNate

    AlphaNate Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is just a little question for a cpanel dev, Is it possible to ADD a drive to my server and NOT have to format. Can we just make it so we can use the drives together?
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    In your question, you said, "ADD a drive to my server and NOT have to format". Do you mean a Hard Drive (HD)? If yes, then the answer is yes, You can add another HD to your server which you can use as a backup, RAID or extar disk storage.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Indeed. You would just add the mountpoint for the extisting partition(s) to /etc/fstab
     
  4. AlphaNate

    AlphaNate Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    would Cpanel be able to use BOTH drives for accounts without raiding them?
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It can, but it tends to create new accounts on the largest partition (e.g. if you have /home and /home2), which might be fine for you. Can also also flip-slop the switch as to which partition it generates accounts on too.
     
  6. AlphaNate

    AlphaNate Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do you mean, Flip-Slop ?
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That was meant to be flip-flop (a typo before). What I mean is that you would have to manually change the homedir setting in WHM Basic Settings between each disk depending on which one you'd prefer to create new accounts.
     
  8. AlphaNate

    AlphaNate Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ah righto, thanks for confirming that for me buddy, you have been a real help take care!
     
Loading...

Share This Page