The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

quota damaged

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alexd, Jan 14, 2004.

  1. alexd

    alexd Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi:

    I got a user with 100mb hosting plan.
    In "quotalist" (Quota Modification in cpanel menu) appears as 100mb , but using 104Mb.

    du -sh of his directory gives just 49Mb used.

    I have run fixquotas script but still having 104Mb for cpanel, adn obviously he can't neither creating email accounts.

    Any solution ?

    thank you in advance
     
  2. zenpig66

    zenpig66 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    One thing you could try is to find the user id in the /etc/passwd file and do a
    find -user xxxxx | more (where xxxxx is the user id)from the root of your box. It might take a few minutes before outputting much but you may find that your user has ownership of files outside of the /home. You will probably see a few but shouldn't be much.

    Also, if you have a backup drive, I've seen some issues with counting backups towards the the quota of the user especially if mounted with usrquota :)

    or, some users have simply stated it takes 2 or 3 runs through /scripts/fixquotas before issues such as you describe are resolved though I have yet to run into that. Just throwing you ideas
     
  3. cyon

    cyon Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi alexd,

    I had a similar problem.
    There were some files and folders in the /home directory with the wrong owners.
    for e.g. a cpmove.tar.gz.
    after removing them, the problem was fixed.

    u can find them by
    cd /home
    find -user username | more as zenpig66 suggested.
     
  4. JCave

    JCave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If you have uncompressed backups of theres in cpanel's backup location, it counts that against there quota. I recently found this out when an account of mine was using double what was in the folder, when I deleted the uncompressed backup, and 50% of the original number was gone.

    peace
     
  5. alexd

    alexd Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    yes, its solved !
    thank you everybody
     
  6. cyon

    cyon Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thats wonderful.
    can you post you solution? maybe it can help others.
     
  7. alexd

    alexd Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    it was what they said

    I had files (uncompressions and othe rstuff) with the same username of the user having the problem

    just search for files with the same user id
     
  8. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well we have different problem we have user with 184 megs of files loaded but it only shoes 56 meg in cpanel and whm, we ran fix quotas but still the same
     
  9. JCave

    JCave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Goto there folder. Like /home/username then type du -sh and this will have the OS show you how much disk space is being used. Whatever number is shown is the actual.
     
  10. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It shows 177 meg which is where I thought it would be, but cpanel shows this.

    Disk usage 56.49 Megabytes
    SQL Disk usage 1.76 Megabytes
    Disk space available 343.51 Megabytes



    This is the problem cpanel and whm read it incorrectly.

    haved tried stable and edge versions of cpanel, have tried fixquotas, and fixeverything.

    Same thing
     
    #10 jackal, Jan 21, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2004
  11. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We restored the account in question from a backup and now the quotas for that account or correct.
     
Loading...

Share This Page