SOLVED Quota Errors on Attempt to Modify Account after 58 Upgrade

wurdey

Member
Jul 14, 2016
5
0
1
AZ
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Just installed WHM 58 & EasyApache4.

All of the updates were successful, however I attempted to modify an account shortly after the upgrades were completed and I received the following error:

A fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive.

Code:
(XID rtzhje) Quotas are not enabled on any of the provided paths. Please check the paths and try again. Paths:  at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Quota/Common.pm line 170.
    Cpanel::Quota::Common::get_limits(Cpanel::Quota::Blocks=HASH(0x7026170)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Quota.pm line 111
    Cpanel::Quota::displayquota(HASH(0x704ea58)) called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr.pl line 4164
    main::edituser() called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr.pl line 588

Did the upgrade break my quota functionality?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

wurdey

Member
Jul 14, 2016
5
0
1
AZ
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I have checked fstav and quotas are still defined on the partition.

When I attempt to modify a quota of a particular account (directly from "Quota Modification") I do not get any errors.

Thinking maybe a package issue?
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,880
2,267
463
Hello,

Please run the following command to verify if this system is on the Xen environment:

Code:
/usr/local/cpanel/bin/envtype
If so, it's possible your system is missing a required symbolic link located at /dev/root. You can check this with a command such as:

Code:
ll /dev/root
You can run the following command to find the device that corresponds with your root filesystem with a command such as:

Code:
df -h
Thus, if the device associated with "/" looks like this:

Code:
/dev/sda1 1.8T 141G 1.6T 9% /
You would run the following command as a temporary resolution until the system is rebooted:

Code:
ln -s /dev/sda1 /dev/root
To ensure the symlink is preserved during a reboot, you will need to modify the /etc/udev/rules.d/99-root-link.rules file on your system with a command such as:

Code:
echo 'KERNEL=="sda1", SUBSYSTEM=="block", SYMLINK+="root"' > /etc/udev/rules.d/99-root-link.rules
Note that this example assumes your root device is "/dev/sda1".

Internal case CPANEL-6338 should address this issue automatically in cPanel version 60, however I'm checking to see if it's possible to issue a resolution in cPanel 58. I'll update this thread with more information as it becomes available.

Thank you.
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,880
2,267
463
I am in a KVM enviroment. Would the above hold true?
You should be able to utilize the same steps for the KVM environment. Let us know if the workaround does not work.

Thank you.
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,880
2,267
463
Hello,

Good news! A resolution for this issue is now released as part of cPanel version 58.0.6:

Fixed case CPANEL-6338: Implemented work around for broken /dev/root symlink during quotacheck.

You can run the following command after updating to cPanel version 58.0.6 or newer to correct this issue:

Code:
/scripts/fixquotas

Thank you.
 

Nestor Angulo

Registered
Aug 14, 2015
4
0
1
Spain
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hi guys!

I have upgraded to the 58.0 (build 5) and I have found that I can't modify any account. When I try, using the "modify account" option, later than selecting the acc I want to modify, I get this:

Code:
A fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive.
(XID e8r7rt) Quotas are not enabled on any of the provided paths. Please check the paths and try again. Paths:  at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Quota/Common.pm line 170.
    Cpanel::Quota::Common::get_limits(Cpanel::Quota::Blocks=HASH(0x6816180)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Quota.pm line 111
    Cpanel::Quota::displayquota(HASH(0x6961568)) called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr.pl line 4164
    main::edituser() called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr.pl line 588

Trying the workaround for the quotas issue that was opened recently:
Quota Errors on Attempt to Modify Account after 58 Upgrade

I have found that doing a df -h I get this (using root user):

Code:
S.ficheros     Tamaño Usados  Disp Uso% Montado en
/dev/root         47G    23G   24G  49% /
devtmpfs         998M      0  998M   0% /dev
tmpfs           1000M      0 1000M   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs           1000M   9,6M  991M   1% /run
tmpfs           1000M      0 1000M   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs            200M      0  200M   0% /run/user/997
tmpfs            200M      0  200M   0% /run/user/0
And doing a "ll /dev/root" I get this:
Code:
[~]# ll /dev/root
/bin/ls: no se puede acceder a /dev/root: No existe el fichero o el directorio
So I can't try the workaround. I tried also to execute the /scripts/fixquotas, and this is the output:
Code:
[/scripts]# ./fixquotas
fixquotas         fixquotas-onboot 
root@marte [/scripts]# ./fixquotas-onboot
edquota: Cannot stat() mounted device /dev/root: No existe el fichero o el directorio
No filesystems with quota detected.
edquota: Cannot stat() mounted device /dev/root: No existe el fichero o el directorio
No filesystems with quota detected.
edquota: Cannot stat() mounted device /dev/root: No existe el fichero o el directorio
No filesystems with quota detected.
edquota: Cannot stat() mounted device /dev/root: No existe el fichero o el directorio
No filesystems with quota detected.
So, I'm a little bit loose. Could you please help me?
This is a CENTOS 7.2 x86_64 kvm in a Linode.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,880
2,267
463
I have upgraded to the 58.0 (build 5)
Hello,

Keep in mind the resolution mentioned in the previous post is included with cPanel version 58.0.6 and newer. That said, could you post the contents of your /etc/fstab file here?

Thank you.
 

Nestor Angulo

Registered
Aug 14, 2015
4
0
1
Spain
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Sure. Actually I have the 0.58 (build 8) installed.

# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Mon Jul 7 20:25:55 2014
/dev/sda / ext3 noatime,errors=remount-ro,usrjquota=quota.user,jqfmt=vfsv0 0 1
/dev/sdb none swap sw 0 0
/proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs nodev,nosuid,noexec,mode=1777 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
Could you help me?
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,880
2,267
463
Sure. Actually I have the 0.58 (build 8) installed.
Could you verify if the issue persists after running the "/scripts/fixquotas" command with the updated cPanel version (your previous post suggested you ran it on an earlier build)?

Thank you.
 

Nestor Angulo

Registered
Aug 14, 2015
4
0
1
Spain
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Sure. It continues:
Code:
# ./fixquotas
Installing Default Quota Databases......Done
journaled quota support: kernel supports, user space tools supports (available)
checking out /backup
checking out /backup
Warning : Your system does not have a separate filesystem for backups. This may cause performance degradation during the backup process.
/dev/sda (already configured quotas = 1).
Updating Quota Files......
    quotacheck: Cannot stat() mounted device /dev/root: No existe el fichero o el directorio
    quotacheck: Cannot find filesystem to check or filesystem not mounted with quota option.
  
....Done
Quotas have been enabled and updated.
Reading package Wordpress-Basic1_20h
Resetting quota for admin20h to 0 M
edquota: Cannot stat() mounted device /dev/root: No existe el fichero o el directorio
No filesystems with quota detected.
Resetting quota for adminsoulpics to 0 M
edquota: Cannot stat() mounted device /dev/root: No existe el fichero o el directorio
No filesystems with quota detected.
Reading package Wordpress-Basic1
Resetting quota for cve to 0 M
edquota: Cannot stat() mounted device /dev/root: No existe el fichero o el directorio
No filesystems with quota detected.
Resetting quota for golfict to 0 M
edquota: Cannot stat() mounted device /dev/root: No existe el fichero o el directorio
No filesystems with quota detected.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,880
2,267
463
Would you mind opening a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

Thank you.
 

raymond999

Registered
Aug 4, 2016
2
0
1
Malaysia
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
WHM 58.0 (build 12)

Creating Acc
Code:
[2016-08-04 22:50:42 +0800] warn [cpsrvd] The subprocess (whostmgr (whostmgr5)) exited with an error: The subprocess reported error number 255 when it ended. at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Server/Handlers/SubProcess.pm line 156.

        Cpanel::Server::Handlers::SubProcess::_report_subprocess_errors(Cpanel::Server::Handlers::SubProcess=HASH(0x23700e0)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Server/Handlers/SubProcess.pm line 71
        Cpanel::Server::Handlers::SubProcess::handler(Cpanel::Server::Handlers::SubProcess=HASH(0x23700e0), "subprocess_name", "whostmgr (whostmgr5)", "subprocess_read_handle", IO::Handle=GLOB(0x28e10a0), "subprocess_write_handle", IO::Handle=GLOB(0x28e0fc8), "api_type", "html", ...) called at cpsrvd.pl line 6369
        cpanel::cpsrvd::cpHandler("app", "whostmgr", "json", 0, "document", "./scripts5/wwwacct") called at cpsrvd.pl line 5580
        cpanel::cpsrvd::dodoc_whostmgrd() called at cpsrvd.pl line 1552
        cpanel::cpsrvd::dodoc(HASH(0xea4760)) called at cpsrvd.pl line 1315
        cpanel::cpsrvd::handle_one_connection() called at cpsrvd.pl line 807
        cpanel::cpsrvd::script() called at cpsrvd.pl line 314
Modify Acc
Code:
[2016-08-04 22:50:42 +0800] die [Internal Death while parsing [stdin] 8241] (XID qugqpn) Quotas are not enabled on any of the provided paths. Please check the paths and try again. Paths:  at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Quota/Common.pm line 170.
        Cpanel::Quota::Common::get_limits(Cpanel::Quota::Blocks=HASH(0x6c42d88)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Accounts/IdTrack.pm line 138
        Whostmgr::Accounts::IdTrack::uid_has_disk_usage(1021) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Accounts/IdTrack.pm line 90
        Whostmgr::Accounts::IdTrack::allocate(1000, HASH(0x6a3cbe8)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Accounts/Create.pm line 758
        Whostmgr::Accounts::Create::_wwwacct("maxpark", 0, "useregns", 0, "max_email_per_hour", "unlimited", "maxsql", "n", "maxftp", ...) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Accounts/Create.pm line 1978
        Whostmgr::Accounts::Create::__createaccount("mxcheck", "local", "maxsub", "unlimited", "hasuseregns", 1, "featurelist", "default", "maxlst", ...) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Accounts/Create.pm line 2028
        Whostmgr::Accounts::Create::_createaccount("mxcheck", "local", "maxsub", "unlimited", "hasuseregns", 1, "featurelist", "default", "maxlst", ...) called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr5.pl line 690
        main::wwwacct() called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr5.pl line 229


Cpanel::Exception::Quota::NotEnabled/(XID qugqpn) Quotas are not enabled on any of the provided paths. Please check the paths and try again. Paths:
at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Exception.pm line 73.
        Cpanel::Exception::create("Quota::NotEnabled", "Quotas are not enabled on any of the provided paths. Please c"..., ARRAY(0x6c432c8)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Quota/Common.pm line 170
        Cpanel::Quota::Common::get_limits(Cpanel::Quota::Blocks=HASH(0x6c42d88)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Accounts/IdTrack.pm line 138
        Whostmgr::Accounts::IdTrack::uid_has_disk_usage(1021) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Accounts/IdTrack.pm line 90
        Whostmgr::Accounts::IdTrack::allocate(1000, HASH(0x6a3cbe8)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Accounts/Create.pm line 758
        Whostmgr::Accounts::Create::_wwwacct("maxpark", 0, "useregns", 0, "max_email_per_hour", "unlimited", "maxsql", "n", "maxftp", ...) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Accounts/Create.pm line 1978
        Whostmgr::Accounts::Create::__createaccount("mxcheck", "local", "maxsub", "unlimited", "hasuseregns", 1, "featurelist", "default", "maxlst", ...) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Accounts/Create.pm line 2028
        Whostmgr::Accounts::Create::_createaccount("mxcheck", "local", "maxsub", "unlimited", "hasuseregns", 1, "featurelist", "default", "maxlst", ...) called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr5.pl line 690
        main::wwwacct() called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr5.pl line 229
 
Last edited by a moderator:

thanatos2k

Registered
Aug 5, 2016
1
0
1
Denver, CO
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
On my Linode, root was /dev/sda, so using

ln -s /dev/sda /dev/root

and

echo 'KERNEL=="sda", SUBSYSTEM=="block", SYMLINK+="root"' > /etc/udev/rules.d/99-root-link.rules

and then running

/scripts/fixquoas

did the trick for me. 58.0.12 version for me.
 

Zurrie

Member
Oct 31, 2004
21
0
151
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
just curious, did cPanel team aware of this error? i mean did they do QC first before sending the update WHM 58.0 (build12) to public?

now all my backup files show error warning during restore:

(XID asm8d9) Quotas are not enabled on any of the provided paths. Please check the paths and try again. Paths:
[ 7151][RESTORE:1 ][A:abcd ]: at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Exception.pm line 73.
[ 7151][RESTORE:1 ][A:abcd ]: Cpanel::Exception::create("Quota::NotEnabled", "Quotas are not enabled on any of the provided paths. Please c"..., ARRAY(0x843a3d8)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Quota/Common.pm line 170
[ 7151][RESTORE:1 ][A:abcd ]: Cpanel::Quota::Common::get_limits(Cpanel::Quota::Blocks=HASH(0x8430f10)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Accounts/IdTrack.pm line 138


relying on this backup files everyday using cPanel pkgacct and restorepkg function... *sigh*
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,880
2,267
463
Sure thing. It is done already.
Ticket number: 7611861
To update, in this particular support ticket, the issue was addressed with the following commands after verifying the device name was "/dev/sda":

Code:
ln -s /dev/sda /dev/root
/scripts/fixquotas
Thanks.

[2016-08-04 22:50:42 +0800] warn [cpsrvd] The subprocess (whostmgr (whostmgr5)) exited with an error: The subprocess reported error number 255 when it ended. at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Server/Handlers/SubProcess.pm line 156.
Could you let us know if the issue persists after updating to cPanel version 58.0.13? It includes an additional resolution related to this issue:

Fixed case CPANEL-7594: Resolve /proc/mounts symlink when fixing missing /dev/root.

Thanks.

On my Linode, root was /dev/sda, so using

ln -s /dev/sda /dev/root

and

echo 'KERNEL=="sda", SUBSYSTEM=="block", SYMLINK+="root"' > /etc/udev/rules.d/99-root-link.rules

and then running

/scripts/fixquoas

did the trick for me. 58.0.12 version for me.
Thank you for updating this thread with the resolution on your Linode environment. Note that cPanel version 58.0.13 includes an additional resolution referenced above that should negate the need for a manual workaround.

(XID asm8d9) Quotas are not enabled on any of the provided paths. Please check the paths and try again. Paths:
Could you verify if the issue persists after updating to cPanel version 58.0.13 and running the "/scripts/fixquotas" command?

Thank you.
 

Zurrie

Member
Oct 31, 2004
21
0
151
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Could you verify if the issue persists after updating to cPanel version 58.0.13 and running the "/scripts/fixquotas" command?
Hi Michael,

cPanel version 58.0.13 [current] still in RC. It is safe or not to update?

i never use any new update until "release version", really annoying problem for me because i need to restore some accounts with size almost 30GB...

never have problem before since i use cPanel for almost 5 years *sigh* so you will understand how i feel about this situation.

regards,

Zurrie
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,880
2,267
463
cPanel version 58.0.13 [current] still in RC. It is safe or not to update?
This version is currently published to the "Edge" and "Current" build tiers, and is tentatively scheduled for publication to the "Release" build tier tomorrow. You can review the full change log, information on updating cPanel/WHM, and information on the build/release process at:

58 Change Log - Change Logs - cPanel Documentation
How can I update cPanel & WHM?
Product Versions and the Release Process - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

That said, the manual workaround referenced in this thread should still address your issue. Could you let us know if it's not working?

Thank you.