The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

quota_directory

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by BlackTux, Jul 31, 2007.

  1. BlackTux

    BlackTux Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am a cpanel newbie and upgraded from 10 to 11 following the steps in the other thread. After I did that I get an error on Exim and it fails to start. The error states that
    Code:
    Exim configuration error for virtual_userdelivery_spam transport:
      quota_directory must not be set without "directory"
    
    . I didn't add anything to the config file nor do I have any spam settings set. I have reset the Config files and ACLs. I checked the config file and on the quota_directory line it says
    Code:
    "${extract{5}{:}{${lookup{${lookup{$domain}lsearch*{/etc/userdomains}{$value}}}lsearch{/etc/passwd}{$value}}}}/mail/${domain}/${local_part}"
    has anyone else had this problem, and if so how did you fix it?


    Thanks in advanced
    Blacktux
     
  2. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    #2 mtindor, Jul 31, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2007
  3. BlackTux

    BlackTux Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep been there done that and still no luck. I am thinking word wrap in the config file might have something to do with it. I am running Exim v. 4.63 very bare. I even put the error in google and it only came up with 4 or 5 results. none of which had a solution.
     
  4. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So, even completely restoring exim.conf via WHM/Exim Configuration editor didn't help? I mean a restore of the default config and then _no_ changing of any options in the Exim Configurator (advanced or not) and it still doesn't work right?

    If you got your license through Cpanel direct, open a ticket with them and I"m sure they will check it out pretty quickly.

    Mike
     
  5. BlackTux

    BlackTux Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The config file was clean from the begining (I didn't add or remove anything before I had this problem). I upgraded from mbox to maildir to move to cpanel 11, but I let it run through and it was 100% sucessful. The problem is I got my licence through my hosting company who got it through CPanel. So I guess I will have to ask my hosting company. I evern tried downgrading back to cpanel 10.8 thinking that would help but no such luck.
     
  6. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I wonder if a /scripts/eximup --force would do it? or maybe a combination of that and some other forcing of re-install of various things that would have to do with maildir like courier.

    Mike
     
  7. BlackTux

    BlackTux Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well I am re-running the /scripts/convert2maildir and I got two more options # 3 and # 4.
    3 is to convert patially converted accounts and 4 is to finish failed converted accounts. I chose 3 and waiting to see how this goes.
     
  8. BlackTux

    BlackTux Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    OK I fixed it. I had to revert my maildir back to mbox. Not sure what the hangup was but if I use mbox I am able to use Exim.
     
  9. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ahh, that's not good though. You really need to ditch mbox now, rather than later. The more accounts you get, the more likely things won't go 100% as planned. Everything about mail runs better on a maildir system. I'm sure you already knew that though. Hopefully things will go better when you switch back to maildir next time.

    Mike
     
  10. BlackTux

    BlackTux Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well this is a new install of cpanel OS and all I am the only account so right now it is just in the testing phase. I think I will wait to read more about the quota directory thing either on exim's site or here.

    Thank you for all your help

    Blacktux


    Final Note:

    I was able to make this installation work with maildir.
    I ran mv /etc/exim.conf exim.conf.old
    Then re-installed the release version of software in cpanel. This is using cpanel 11 on Fedora 5.
    My conclution is that the convert script did not do a good job in converting the exim.conf file to work with maildir.

    Again that you all for helping and I hope this helps others.

    BlackTux
     
    #10 BlackTux, Aug 1, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2007

Share This Page