The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quotas and fstab

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sahostking, Jul 28, 2014.

  1. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    When I try to do a yum install I get the following error:

    /dev/sda2: write failed, user block limit reached

    I then checked and found the following:

    root@lin01 [/etc]# df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda2 42G 35G 6.7G 84% /
    tmpfs 3.9G 6.5M 3.9G 1% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda1 194M 114M 78M 60% /boot
    /dev/sdc1 394G 142G 252G 37% /backup
    /dev/sdd1 50G 7.9G 39G 17% /data
    /dev/sdb1 394G 142G 233G 38% /home
    /usr/tmpDSK 485M 80M 380M 18% /tmp


    Note /dev/sda2 gives this error.

    fstab has the following:


    # /etc/fstab
    # Created by anaconda on Fri Sep 14 00:19:52 2012
    #
    # Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
    # See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
    #
    /dev/sda2 / ext4 usrjquota=quota.user,jqfmt=vfsv0,noatime 1 1
    /dev/sda1 /boot ext4 defaults,noatime 1 2
    /dev/sda3 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/sdc1 /backup ext4 rw,noatime 0 0
    /dev/sdd1 /data ext4 defaults,usrquota,noatime 0 1
    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults,noexec,nosuid 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/sdb1 /home ext4 rw,usrjquota=quota.user,jqfmt=vfsv0,noatime 0 0
    /usr/tmpDSK /tmp ext3 defaults,noauto 0 0


    Does fstab look correct? Is quotas necessary on /dev/sda2?
    Can this be usrjquota=quota.user,jqfmt=vfsv0,?

    Any ideas how to fix?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Looks good:


    Filesystem Inodes IUsed IFree IUse% Mounted on
    /dev/sda2 2744320 922292 1822028 34% /
    tmpfs 1261978 3 1261975 1% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda1 51200 49 51151 1% /boot
    /dev/sdc1 26214400 29860 26184540 1% /backup
    /dev/sdd1 3276800 94518 3182282 3% /data
    /dev/sdb1 26214400 3903823 22310577 15% /home
    /usr/tmpDSK 128016 2275 125741 2% /tmp
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It looks like there might be filesystem or hardware issue if space/inodes are available. You can open a support ticket so we can take a closer look, but keep in mind that we won't be able to actually resolve any hardware/filesystem issues if it turns out to be the cause of the problem. That would require you to seek assistance from your hosting provider or a qualified system administrator. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page