The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

quotas in WHM all 0's!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chadi, Aug 31, 2004.

  1. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I searched the forums for a quota fix and ran /scripts/fixquotas. Well, it brought ALL accounts to 0 in WHM. I am using Fedora Core 2 and the latest cPanel build. It was working fine for 3 months and after the update it caused the error. A selfish tech at cPanel ignorantly blamed it on Fedora Core 2 regardless of the fact that I told him that is was working fine for 3 months until I updated cPanel.

    I would appreciate someone helping me on this. The command brought them all down to 0 instead of actually fixing them.
     
  2. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here is what it says when I run /scripts/fixquotas

    No filesystems with quota detected.
    Resetting quota for zaxcorp to 2000 Meg....Done
     
  3. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    more details if it helps:

    Note: call resetquota with --useplanquotas to reset all quotas to plan defaults
    edquota: Quota file not found or has wrong format.
    edquota: Quota file not found or has wrong format.
    No filesystems with quota detected.
    Resetting quota for admin to 500 Meg....Done
    edquota: Quota file not found or has wrong format.
    edquota: Quota file not found or has wrong format.
    No filesystems with quota detected.
     
  4. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kernel has nothing to do with it. I have the latest and Fedora Core 2.

    root@server [~]# /sbin/quotaoff -a
    quotaoff: Cannot find quota file on / [/dev/hda2] to turn quotas on/off.
    quotaoff: Cannot find quota file on /extra [/dev/hdb1] to turn quotas on/off.

    Please someone help!
     
  5. Roy@ENHOST

    Roy@ENHOST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles California
    Are you out of disk space?
    That can be one of the causes.
     
  6. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Far from that. I hav 2x250GB space
     
  7. binaer

    binaer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hello community,

    we've no compiled kernel with quota-support. Could run /scripts/fixquotas in this case? Is it possible, to compile the kernel without crashing cPanel or must cPanel be reinstalled after this?
     
  8. zentity

    zentity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You can just recompile the kernel with quota support, then reboot.

    To fix quota problems, make sure that the partitions are mounted with quota support

    /etc/fstab
    LABEL=/usr /usr ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2

    For example.

    Then

    cd /
    rm -f aquota.user quota.user /home/aquota.user /home/quota.user /usr/aquota.user /usr/quota.user /var/aquota.user /var/quota.user (modify this depending upon your partitions)
    /sbin/quotaoff -auvg
    touch aquota.user quota.user /home/aquota.user /home/quota.user /usr/aquota.user /usr/quota.user /var/aquota.user /var/quota.user (modify this depending upon your partitions)
    chmod 600 aquota.user quota.user /home/aquota.user /home/quota.user /usr/aquota.user /usr/quota.user /var/aquota.user /var/quota.user (modify this depending upon your partitions)
    /sbin/quotacheck -auvgfm
    /sbin/quotaon -auvg

    If you need to run /scripts/fixquotas to fix the individual account quotas after that, that should resolve the problem.
     
    #9 zentity, Sep 1, 2004
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2004
  9. binaer

    binaer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    there isn't a problem to recompile the Kernel, even the CPanel is already installed and run's successful?
     
  10. zentity

    zentity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Recompiling your kernel is a frequent operation if you are running linux - If you need to recompile it with quota support, that isn't going to break cpanel, it will simply enable quota support within your kernel.
     
  11. binaer

    binaer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    okay, thank you. The Problem was at the installation of CPanel (we're running since 1.5month). When we've recompiled the kernel, the machine has crashed and we must set up new.

    Does anyone have a "reference" Kernel-Config-File for FreeBSD 5.1-RELEASE? ;)
     
  12. hichew

    hichew Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    chandi, how's the problem ?
    my cpanel generate the same error after i'm upgrading the new version of cpanel.
    and I dont know what should I do, I think it's a bad thing for me to update the cpanel :(
     
  13. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    You won't receive a reply from chadi, he's been banned.

    Contact your cpanel distributor for support. They should be able to assist you with your problem.
     
Loading...

Share This Page