The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quotas Problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by limneos, May 27, 2005.

  1. limneos

    limneos Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a problem with quotas, after some user additions, my quotas have gone mad.
    when I type:

    # quotaoff -a
    quotaoff: quotactl on /dev/vzfs [/]: Device or resource busy
    quotaoff: quotactl on /dev/vzfs [/]: Device or resource busy

    I need to disable the quotas completely and re-enable them from scratch...
    how can this be done?

    Thank you in advance for your help.
     
  2. cbwass

    cbwass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try running /scripts/fixquotas
     
  3. limneos

    limneos Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Other problem

    I tried this, doesn't work.
    I have another question...
    is there a limit that is set somewhere on the system, that does not allow the creation of more user quotas?
    e.g. a global limit per inodes, blocks etc?
    I have noticed that after I add some users , from one point and on it cannot set quotas to the users....

    edquota: Can't write quota for user31 on /dev/vzfs: No such process

    also, the blocks and inodes for the newly added users appear 0 0 in edquota



    note: the users that are created, are created manually with the useradd command, not via new cpanel accounts.

    Thank you again for your help.
     
  4. RAIS2

    RAIS2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think that might be your problem. If you did not create the account through WHM, then chances are all the regular cpanel features were not created, therefore you got an error like:
    Code:
    edquota: Can't write quota for user31 on /dev/vzfs: No such process
    If the account was created via WHM, then the process should exist.
     
  5. limneos

    limneos Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    other problem/more

    but it works for the first 20-30 users I create, after that it fails.
     
  6. limneos

    limneos Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    other problem/more/even more

    ok, I found something else being the problem.

    The problem starts from useradd, not quotas.
    when I add the first 20-30 users, the files that are created in their home directories are these:

    .bash_logout .bash_profile .bashrc f


    but from some point and on, the files created in home directories is only this:

    .bash_logout

    What could cause this to happen?
     
  7. RAIS2

    RAIS2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmm, I am not sure. If it was working, then I would start looking over the error logs for the server from the time it was last working and looking for odd errors to see if there are ways to debug it.
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I would be wondering if there are some file system problems on the VPS you're on since quotaing should be working before you get near the VPS. You may need to backup and have it restored if problems persist and you don't find a solution. It's difficult to know when you're not using a "real" file system.
     
Loading...

Share This Page