The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RBL not for SMTP

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by adapter, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi all

    i have add RBL in Exim but now i have a problem with all the customer that use the smtp of my server, most of all use a dialup connection and all these ip are blacklisted so they can't send anymore email from my server, how can i remove the control only for outgoing email?
     
  2. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    in exim.conf i already have this

    # Reject message if address listed in blacklist.
    deny message = Message rejected because $sender_fullhost is blacklisted at $dnslist_domain see $dnslist_text :
    !hosts = +relay_hosts
    !authenticated = *
    dnslists = dnsbl.njabl.org : bl.spamcop.net : sbl.spamhaus.org : list.dsbl.org : cbl.abuseat.org : relays.ordb.org :
    # RBL Bypass Local Domain List
    !domains = +rbl_bypass
    # RBL Whitelist incoming hosts
    !hosts = +rbl_whitelist
    #**#
    #**# RBL List End
    #**#
     
  3. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    checking the exim_rejectlog i found this

    2006-11-09 16:33:17 sender verify defer for xxxx lowest numbered MX record points to local host

    any help?
     
  4. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    make sure that domain is found in /etc/localdomains and not in /etc/remotedomains.
     
  5. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Add the users domain to /etc/rblbypass
     
  6. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    Code:
    Add the users domain to /etc/rblbypass
    what if you have 400 Active domains on the box ?

    Also if such a dial up user sends and imp. mail to a domain hosted on my box, he seems to have look for a non black listed IP to send mails, which is a lot of pains to explain to your clients.

    Anyone with a better SPAM control option ?

    seey a,
    mohit
     
  7. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well what i dont undestand why RBL check also for send email from my server if i have add in exim.conf

    !hosts = +relay_hosts
    !authenticated = *

    ?
     
  8. yapluka

    yapluka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry for digging up an old post but I thought I would add the fix for the record.

    Putting
    Code:
    !hosts = +relay_hosts
    !authenticated = *
    before the dnslists may generate those "lowest numbered MX record points to local host" errors.

    If you add this piece of code under the # RBL Bypass Local Domain List section, it will work just fine.
    Like this :
    Code:
    # RBL Bypass Local Domain List
    !domains = +rbl_bypass
    !hosts = +relay_hosts
    !authenticated = *
    
     
  9. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    doesn't the rbl_bypass file need to be defined somewhere like the relay_hosts so it know where search in the file ? .... or did I miss something ??

    Mickalo
     
  10. yapluka

    yapluka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    They are actually defined in the top box which looks like this on my servers :

    Code:
    log_selector = +all
    domainlist rbl_blacklist = lsearch;/etc/rblblacklist 
    domainlist rbl_bypass = lsearch;/etc/rblbypass 
    hostlist rbl_whitelist = lsearch;/etc/relayhosts : partial-lsearch;/etc/rblwhitelist
    hostlist rv_relay_hosts = net-iplsearch;/etc/relayhosts
    
     
  11. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Ok, that's what I thought. ;)

    just for clarification, when using the rbl_bypass list what domains would be put in there to bypass the checks ... something someother_domain.com on each line, that you want to be bypassed in the RBL checks, do you use the IP or domain name ??

    Thx's
    Mickalo
     
    #11 mickalo, Dec 16, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2006
  12. yapluka

    yapluka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    rbl_bypass is for local domains and you would add them one domain per line like this :

    yourdomain1.com
    yourdomain2.com
    ... etc
     
  13. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Thx's. appreciate the info. ;)

    Mickalo
     
  14. yapluka

    yapluka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Glad I could help :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page