Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

RBL not for SMTP

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by adapter, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hi all

    i have add RBL in Exim but now i have a problem with all the customer that use the smtp of my server, most of all use a dialup connection and all these ip are blacklisted so they can't send anymore email from my server, how can i remove the control only for outgoing email?
     
  2. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    in exim.conf i already have this

    # Reject message if address listed in blacklist.
    deny message = Message rejected because $sender_fullhost is blacklisted at $dnslist_domain see $dnslist_text :
    !hosts = +relay_hosts
    !authenticated = *
    dnslists = dnsbl.njabl.org : bl.spamcop.net : sbl.spamhaus.org : list.dsbl.org : cbl.abuseat.org : relays.ordb.org :
    # RBL Bypass Local Domain List
    !domains = +rbl_bypass
    # RBL Whitelist incoming hosts
    !hosts = +rbl_whitelist
    #**#
    #**# RBL List End
    #**#
     
  3. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    checking the exim_rejectlog i found this

    2006-11-09 16:33:17 sender verify defer for xxxx lowest numbered MX record points to local host

    any help?
     
  4. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    make sure that domain is found in /etc/localdomains and not in /etc/remotedomains.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Canada
    Add the users domain to /etc/rblbypass
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    Code:
    Add the users domain to /etc/rblbypass
    what if you have 400 Active domains on the box ?

    Also if such a dial up user sends and imp. mail to a domain hosted on my box, he seems to have look for a non black listed IP to send mails, which is a lot of pains to explain to your clients.

    Anyone with a better SPAM control option ?

    seey a,
    mohit
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    well what i dont undestand why RBL check also for send email from my server if i have add in exim.conf

    !hosts = +relay_hosts
    !authenticated = *

    ?
     
  8. yapluka

    yapluka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry for digging up an old post but I thought I would add the fix for the record.

    Putting
    Code:
    !hosts = +relay_hosts
    !authenticated = *
    before the dnslists may generate those "lowest numbered MX record points to local host" errors.

    If you add this piece of code under the # RBL Bypass Local Domain List section, it will work just fine.
    Like this :
    Code:
    # RBL Bypass Local Domain List
    !domains = +rbl_bypass
    !hosts = +relay_hosts
    !authenticated = *
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    doesn't the rbl_bypass file need to be defined somewhere like the relay_hosts so it know where search in the file ? .... or did I miss something ??

    Mickalo
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. yapluka

    yapluka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    They are actually defined in the top box which looks like this on my servers :

    Code:
    log_selector = +all
    domainlist rbl_blacklist = lsearch;/etc/rblblacklist 
    domainlist rbl_bypass = lsearch;/etc/rblbypass 
    hostlist rbl_whitelist = lsearch;/etc/relayhosts : partial-lsearch;/etc/rblwhitelist
    hostlist rv_relay_hosts = net-iplsearch;/etc/relayhosts
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Ok, that's what I thought. ;)

    just for clarification, when using the rbl_bypass list what domains would be put in there to bypass the checks ... something someother_domain.com on each line, that you want to be bypassed in the RBL checks, do you use the IP or domain name ??

    Thx's
    Mickalo
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #11 mickalo, Dec 16, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2006
  12. yapluka

    yapluka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    rbl_bypass is for local domains and you would add them one domain per line like this :

    yourdomain1.com
    yourdomain2.com
    ... etc
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Thx's. appreciate the info. ;)

    Mickalo
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. yapluka

    yapluka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Glad I could help :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice