Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

rDNS doesn't point to the correct subdomains

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by knguyen2015, Oct 12, 2015.

  1. knguyen2015

    knguyen2015 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have 2 domain names. I tried to create the subdomain for domain2.com like this:

    mta12.domain2.com.

    I created the DNS zone with that subdomain and ip. However, when i checked it, that ip was reversed to mta12.domain1.com instead of mta12.domain2.com.

    I checked the losf with pid of named, i found these:

     
    #1 knguyen2015, Oct 12, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2015
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. knguyen2015

    knguyen2015 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yep
    I think i do. This is dedicated server.

    Here is my reversed conf

     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Please contact your data center to verify this, as typically your data center needs to configure the RDNS records on your behalf.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a dedicated server, but as Michael has said, the RDNS records are controlled by the DC and not me.
    I emailed my server providers, who applied the change at the DC.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice