Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

rDNS errors on secondary shared IP

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by linkup, Dec 15, 2017.

Tags:
  1. linkup

    linkup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I have been receiving ongoing complaints about client's email being rejected, and it is because the shared IP they are on doesn't have a proper rDNS record. I have been filing tickets with them (IBM) for 2 months and their response has been the same, the rDNS record is correct. It finally dawned on them, and I guess me, that the complaints are with the secondary shared IP, not the primary shared IP.

    Both IP addresses have errors regarding:
    SMTP Banner Check Reverse DNS does not match SMTP Banner
    SMTP TLS Warning - Does not support TLS.

    However, the secondary IP gets this error when checked in MXLookup:

    SMTP Reverse DNS Mismatch Reverse DNS does not contain the hostname

    Since cPanel supports multiple shared IP address, it would see there would be a way to give the secondary IP address a proper rDNS record.

    This issue has caused me a lot of problems for months now and I would like a definitive answer "from the horse's mouth" before I start changing 50 domain IP address, something I don't care to do.

    Running CENTOS 6.9 standard [server6] v68.0.20

    Thanks!
     
    #1 linkup, Dec 15, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2017
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Could you confirm that RDNS is also setup for the additional IP address?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. linkup

    linkup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello Michael. I was told by Softlayer to change the RDNS settings through their portal, not something done on the server. Their portal shows the RDNS has been set for the offending IP:

    75.126.215.47

    Status
    N/A


    Description
    N/A


    Hostname server6.linkuphosting.net

    Compare that to the primary IP:

    173.192.126.34

    Status
    In Use


    Description
    server6.linkuphosting.net

    Hostname server6.linkuphosting.net

    You can see on the one that works, it shows a Status of In use, and the description has the host name in it, the offending one doesn't.

    If I use the "check all IPs in the subnet, it says:

    75.126.215.47
    In Use
    Routed to 173.192.126.34

    Not sure why this part of the portal says "in use", when the other section doesn't.

    I don't know what role their management software has vs. what is controlled by the server itself. I don't know why these changes are done in their portal, not through the server itself.

    My novice opinion is that they only let one IP be primary, and they only let one IP have a functioning RDNS.

    Thanks,
    Lew
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello Lew,

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. linkup

    linkup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello!

    Per the conversation in the ticket, it isn't a matter of what settings are in cPanel, the RDNS info is provided by my hosts portal. So far, it seems they are only able to set up a proper RDNS on the primary IP, and not the secondary IP. That means half of my users can't send mail to a variety of places like Craigslist, Earthlink, etc...

    Thanks Softlayer/IBM
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice