The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RDNS Howto

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by AlaskanWolf, Aug 20, 2003.

  1. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    Can someone please for once-and-all supply a howto on how to get RDNS configured properly on a cpanel machine?

    (Yes, i do have the block's name servers redelgated to my own ns servers)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Higgins

    Higgins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Maybe its not a HowTO but i can describe how it works for us:

    Create the Entry in /etc/named.conf

    Code:
    zone "0-127.333.222.111.in-addr.arpa" in {
            type master;
            file "/var/named/333.222.111.zone";
    };
    
    The above Example is for an 128 IP Adresses Block. The IP has to be in Reverse Order. Means if your IP is 192.168.125.x
    you have to name it
    0-127.125.168.192.in-addr.arpa

    Now create the file in the /var/named/ Folder with these contents:

    Code:
    $ORIGIN .
    $TTL 604800     ; 1 week
    0-127.125.168.192.in-addr.arpa IN SOA   localhost. root.localhost. (
                                    2003072901 ; serial
                                    172800     ; refresh (2 days)
                                    14400      ; retry (4 hours)
                                    3628800    ; expire (6 weeks)
                                    604800     ; minimum (1 week)
                                    )
                            NS      ns1.yourdns.com.
                            NS      ns2.yourdns.com.
    $ORIGIN 0-127.125.168.192.in-addr.arpa
    
    after these create the Entrys für your IP Adresses:

    Code:
    1                       PTR     whatever.com.
    2                       PTR     however.com.
    
    Hope this Hels.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. majik

    majik Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm not sure what you mean in this step. Where would I add these entreis? Based on your example, would it be appended to the end of the "/var/named/333.222.111.zone" file (after the second snippet of code you provided)?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    actually i figured it out right after i posted

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. lu666s

    lu666s Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, great, but would you share what you did figure out?

    Strange that WHM does not have PTR entry in zone setup, all other panels do.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Dreifels

    Dreifels Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No more reply here? Is this a secret, or will someone at last tell how to set up proper RDNS?

    Thanks in advance :(
     
  7. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    All other panels do? Why on earth would that be necessary when most people do not have the authority to edit such records? My datacenter does these settings for me. There is a control panel in their helpdesk that allows customers to tell what domain they want associated with a particular ip address.
     
  8. Dreifels

    Dreifels Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is necessary as even NOT all DCs does have such and are willed or able to do, but simply give it in their customer hands.

    It is strongly necessary for those dealing with such an ISP or DC as they expect that the customer can do it alone if wanted.
    cPanel the only panel is with that you can't do it and you're standing in rain.
     
  9. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    I could be wrong, but my understanding is that the owner of the IP class will set the ptr record for it. For example, the ptr for cpanel.net's ip says this:
    (http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/ptr.ch?ip=216.118.116.105)
    So if cpanel does not have access to the computer with ns2.pwebtech.com on it (most likely they do not) then they cannot set their own ptr record.
     
Loading...

Share This Page