The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rdns

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by keat63, Dec 12, 2014.

  1. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When running an MX scan i get the following.

    Warning - Reverse DNS does not match SMTP Banner

    Can anyone explain in simple terms, what I need to do. I've read loads of articles but it all jibberish to me.
    I figured out how to create a Reverse Zone using add a DNS zone, but do I need to do anything with each user domain ?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You will need to contact your data center and have them setup a RDNS entry from your IP address pointing to your server's hostname. One exception to this is if you are sending email with the account IP address, in which case you would configure RDNS pointing to the domain name that's sending.

    Thank you.
     
  3. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I own the server (for 3 years)
    I have 2 dedicated private IP's, which i'm sending email through one.
    The server is also acting as a name server, so I naturally assumed that DNS was down to me ?

    I created a reverse zone xxx.xxx.xxx.in-addr.arpa. (in reverse)
    Then under the users domain dns zone, I added a PTR using the last octet and pointed it to mail.userdomain.com

    Did i do wrong ?
    I'm open to criticism and lecturing as I'm still learning.
    If I did wrong, then it's better to know now than to wait 24 -48 hours only to find out it didn't propagate or was wrong and caused problems.

    - - - Updated - - -

    If it helps, then the HELO from a recent test email appears to be showing server.hostname.com and not the users domain
     
  4. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I contacted the datacentre as suggested.
    They added an RDNS entry for my host server, after I added an A entry for the full server hostname.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, typically data centers are the ones that handle these records. I am happy to see the issue has been addressed.

    Thank you.
     
  6. Richierich

    Richierich Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi,

    I am a newbiee in rDNS can some one tell me is the name server entry a compulsion in the SOA record? as i was able to find the rDNS entry withour a NS record ?
    If yes then what are the consequences of not having a nameserver record?

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  7. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If your do not own your own IP space or have not had the rDNS delegated to you there is no consequence of not having one.
    rDNS are handled by the authoritative name servers that controls the IP space
     
Loading...

Share This Page