The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Re: access phpmyadmin for Dev

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by dnswho, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. dnswho

    dnswho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What I want to do is give my developer the phpmyadmin login without me give them cPanel login? I see some how hat they go like http://yourdomain.com/phpmyadmin then they user the DB user and password
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi dnswho, I've moved your post to it's own thread as your request is a bit different than the original thread you posted to.

    You can setup a second copy of phpMyAdmin on the account, edit the config so that it only has access to that one DB, password protect it and give the Dev that URL if you want. This would be completely independent of cPanel.
     
  3. dnswho

    dnswho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    first thank you and why I did not got that email?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Email from the forums about a reply? I'm not sure, you might check that your email address in your forums profile is up to date and working.
     
  5. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I have phpmy setup so that all users can get to it. If you have root access, this is not that hard to do
    Step 1: Download phpmyadmin into /home/, extract it so that everything resides in /home/phpmy/
    Step 2: edit /home/phpmy/config.inc.php to be as such:
    Code:
    <?php
    /*
     * Generated configuration file
     * Generated by: phpMyAdmin 2.8.0.3 setup script by Michal Cihar <michal@cihar.com>
     * Version: $Id: setup.php,v 1.23.2.2.2.1 2006/03/08 19:06:48 nijel Exp $
     * Date: Fri, 05 May 2006 17:44:16 GMT
     */
    
    /* Servers configuration */
    $i = 0;
    
    /* Server localhost (http) [1] */
    $i++;
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = 'localhost';
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysql';
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'tcp';
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['compress'] = false;
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'http';
    
    /* End of servers configuration */
    
    ?>
    
    This will prompt users to login every time they access phpmy. They can login using the database username and password, not needing the account username or password. Yeah, I know the config file is a bit old, but it still works on the latest beta.

    Step 3: Edit /usr/local/apache/conf/includes/pre_main_global.conf and add the following 2 lines:
    Code:
    Alias /phpmy/ /home/phpmy/
    Alias /phpmy /home/phpmy/
    
    This will make it so that any time anyone goes to any ip or url on your server and adds /phpmy/ (or /phpmy) to this url, it will automatically load this directory.
     
  6. DomineauX

    DomineauX Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    (Sorry for replying to an old post but it was just tweeted by @cpaneltips)

    I would suggest that you setup a .htaccess redirect to force visitors over to https using the server SSL to keep this from being a security concern.
     
Loading...

Share This Page