The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Really dumb question about memory increase

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pqhost, Jan 4, 2007.

  1. pqhost

    pqhost Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    right now i am at 512megs of RAM on the server...the load is high a lot. Will increasing it to 1gb result in much better performance?
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    512 ram on a cpanel server is not much, but yes, increasing to 1 gig will help a lot. Look at your swap file. I like having enough ram so that no swap file is used. If your swap is 100meg or more (which most likely it is) then yes, increase the ram.
     
  3. markfrompf

    markfrompf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I have a few boxes over at Ev1 Servers, now Ev1 Servers-The Planet. They all came with 512MB RAM and I noticed that a specific one was actually crashing every few days.

    I started monitoring it very intently and noticed that when SpamAssassin (spamd) runs, the server's load jumps way up and uses a lot of the RAM.

    So in summary, I'd suggest maybe disabling SpamAssassin first, if your customers (or you) don't use it, or could live without it.

    He's right - 512 is a small amount of RAM for a server. I'm running 1GB on most of my boxes and 4GB on another. Performance is not notably different between them.


    PS: There are no dumb questions - Just questions that make us think back a year or two.
     
    #3 markfrompf, Jan 5, 2007
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2007
  4. richy

    richy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Until around September time, most of our servers had 1 to 2Gb of RAM, but due to the increase in spam (and hence processing time/requirements), we had to upgrade all servers to 4Gb to prevent slowdowns when we received a lot of inbound spam (at one point, over 2,000 emails per hour with 80% being marked as spam via MailScanner). As per usual - the more memory and CPU resources you can through at a server, the better ;)

    (oh, and in regards the dumb question - I don't mind them from anybody as long as the question asker provides details, shows they've tried to resolve/investigated/searched the issue and have got confused. I do, however, like many people probably on this board hate the "Help! I need help now! (no other information)" style ones or ones that don't contain error messages etc. We're a reasonable helpful and friendly bunch here, and ask long as you help us help you, they'll be no problems of any questions :D )
     
    #4 richy, Jan 5, 2007
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2007
  5. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    You are always better off in getting a better CPU the more ram. Like an 2x Intel Xeon with at least 1GB of RAM will do much better then lets say an AMD Barton or Intel P4 with 4GB of RAM.

    Just my two cents.

    From,
    Adam
     

Share This Page