The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Really good server hardware specs for peace of mind

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by spaceman, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. spaceman

    spaceman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi All,

    I've got two 'old' dedicated hosting servers in the USA, one running Redhat 7.3 (P4 2.4Ghz) and another Fedora 1 (P4 2.8Ghz). Both machines have 2 x 80Gb IDE hard drives, where the second drive is solely for cPanel backups.

    I wish to migrate all sites from both servers and consolidate in a single more robust, more powerful server. Here are the specs I'm looking at:

    Dual Xeon 3.2
    2Gb RAM
    2 x 250Gb SATA in RAID 1
    1 x 250Gb SATA (for cPanel /backups)
    RHE 4
    cPanel (of course)

    So the key change I'm going for is 3 HDs, with two of them in a RAID 1 config and the third for cPanel backups.

    I'm not after special offers or deals from anyone. As a fellow cPanel user and (presumably) website hoster, my question is - what do you think of this hardware setup?


    It's not every day you migrate lots of sites to a new server, and so I feel it's important to choose the initial/base hardware config wisely.

    Is there any glaring opportunity I've missed here to get myself sorted out with a damn good server that's going to last me a few (couple of?) years?
     
    #1 spaceman, Sep 26, 2006
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2006
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    that set up is fine
    but I run 2x 250's raid 1 and back up the sites over vlan to a 2nd server (keep one local)
    if that server crashes backups are all ready to go and accessable but you would need muti servers which you may not have :)
     
  3. spaceman

    spaceman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for that feedback. I'm actually considering a remote backup solution outside of the data centre in addition to the RAID + 3rd drive 'total peace of mind' features :)
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    you will notice quite the performace gain going from IDE to Sata's
    I use nothing but raid aray's raid 1 & raid 10 have not had to reinstall a OS because of a hard drive failure in years its nice just popping in a new drive and build the new aray (at least your thinking ahead as those raid arays will do nothing for you if you blow a PS, motherboard, or have drive curruption) :)
     
  5. MMarko

    MMarko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    IMHO it is better to spread your sites over 3 different servers in 3 datacenters than having one server like this.

    I think this would cost you around $350 - $400 / per month. For that price you can get 3 Pentium4 2.x with 1GB ram, and main 80gb disk plus 40gb for backup. And you'll have backup on 3 different places.
     
  6. jsnape

    jsnape Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    True... sometimes a week goes by... But, oddly, I agree with the othe poster, $800 or $8000 servers are suseptible to having problems, and if one crops up that's hard to pinpoint it would be better to have less people affected and easier to track it to one user. Four or five or six high process users, and a nagging sporadic load problem is a P I T A !
     
  7. spaceman

    spaceman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Couldn't agree more! We already have two dedicated servers locally here in Australia, so we can shift resources/sites around exactly as you describe. We tend to keep the bulk of our hosting accounts in the US because bandwidth is stupidly expensive here relative to the US.

    P.S. Thanks to everyone who's posting here. It's reassuring to know that I'm more or less on the right track. I've been doing this (hosting with cPanel) for nearly 6 years now, but it's good to have a reality check with my peers once in a while.
     
Loading...

Share This Page