Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

realperlinstall wont stop running

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ToddW, Jul 24, 2006.

  1. ToddW

    ToddW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Any idea? Why it wont finish?

    PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM TIME CPU COMMAND
    10971 root 23 0 7908 7908 1600 R 33.5 0.7 0:08 0 realperlinstall
    10980 root 23 0 7912 7912 1600 R 33.5 0.7 0:08 0 realperlinstall

    Thanks
    -Todd
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. ToddW

    ToddW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    RHE & WHM 9.9.9 cPanel 9.9.9-S15
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Canada
    What OS and version of Cpanel are you running?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Kill off the process and upgrade cPanel - the one you're running is old and has the perl module bug that you're seeing.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. ToddW

    ToddW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Tried to update cpanel and it goes this over and over.

    1) Africa
    (2) Asia
    (3) Central America
    (4) Europe
    (5) North America
    (6) Oceania
    (7) South America
    Select your continent (or several nearby continents) []

    Is there a manual way that would work better?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Canada
    If you change to a release build instead of stable do you get the same thing?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    He will get the problem with any of the builds.

    IIRC, if you kill off the looping PID it ought to go through eventually and then you can run:

    /scripts/rpmup

    If not, you need to either:

    1. Install the CPAN module directly from source at cpan.org

    or, better still:

    2. Upgrade your perl version to v5.8.7 if you're not already on it using the tarball from http://layer1.cpanel.net
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice