The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rearrange an Account no longer working in WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by audrey, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. audrey

    audrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hi

    on my linux servers
    (one of which has a separate hard drive for backup and the other has a partition on the main drive for backup)

    in whm 11.30.3 (build 4) under list accounts and under the partition category,for any site
    If I click on the icon under home or home2
    Instead of what I should see - I get this message for any site
    and it won't let me make any changes including the amount of subdomains or pop accounts or anything else

    Rearrange an Account
    Account User Name username
    Primary Domain Name _______.com
    Current Home Directory /home/username
    Current Mount Point /
    Current Partition /dev/sda5
    Current Disk Usage 852209980 / 938879984 Blocks used, ( 95% Free )
    New mount point for this account /boot does not match “home”
    /backup does not match “home”
    Sorry, there is only one usable partition detected on this machine matching “home”

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Thanks for your help

    Audrey
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please provide the following details:

    Code:
    mount
    cat /etc/fstab
    df -kh
     
  3. audrey

    audrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hi Tristan

    just to be sure

    you want me to run these 3 commands (individually -of course)
    as root in ssh?

    mount

    cat /etc/fstab

    df -kh

    Thanks
    Lauren
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Lauren,

    Correct, if you could run those 3 different commands in shell, then provide the output you receive from running each command.

    Thanks!
     
  5. audrey

    audrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hi Tristan

    Thanks for your help

    Here are the results from the server that has a backup drive

    [root@host35 ~]# mount
    /dev/hda3 on / type ext3 (rw,usrquota)
    none on /proc type proc (rw)
    none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
    usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
    /dev/hda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
    none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
    /usr/tmpDSK on /tmp type ext3 (rw,noexec,nosuid,loop=/dev/loop0)
    /tmp on /var/tmp type none (rw,noexec,nosuid,bind)
    sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)
    /dev/hdc1 on /backup type ext3 (rw)
    [root@host35 ~]# cat /etc/fstab
    # This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults,usrquota
    1 1
    LABEL=/boot1 /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
    none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    none /proc proc defaults 0 0
    none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=SWAP-hda2 swap swap defaults 0 0 /usr/tmpDSK /tmp ext3 defaults,noauto 0
    0 /tmp /var/tmp ext3 defaults,bind,noauto
    0 0
    /dev/hdc1 /backup ext3 defaults 1 2
    [root@host35 ~]# df -kh
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda3 227G 174G 42G 81% /
    /dev/hda1 342M 22M 303M 7% /boot
    none 2.0G 0 2.0G 0% /dev/shm
    /usr/tmpDSK 485M 117M 343M 26% /tmp
    /tmp 485M 117M 343M 26% /var/tmp
    /dev/hdc1 230G 179G 40G 83% /backup [root@host35 ~]#


    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Here are the results from the server that uses a backup partition

    root@server1 [~]# mount
    /dev/sda6 on / type ext3 (rw,usrquota)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
    /dev/sda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
    tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    /dev/sda3 on /home type ext3 (rw,usrquota)
    /dev/sda7 on /tmp type ext3 (rw,noexec,nosuid)
    /dev/sda5 on /usr type ext3 (rw,usrquota)
    /dev/sda8 on /var type ext3 (rw,usrquota)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
    /tmp on /var/tmp type none (rw,noexec,nosuid,bind)
    root@server1 [~]# cat /etc/fstab
    LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 1
    LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/home /home ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/tmp /tmp ext3 defaults 1 2
    LABEL=/usr /usr ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    LABEL=/var /var ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    LABEL=SWAP-hda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /tmp /var/tmp ext3 defaults,bind,noauto 0 0
    root@server1 [~]# df -kh
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda6 3.9G 407M 3.3G 11% /
    /dev/sda1 99M 16M 79M 17% /boot
    tmpfs 1.8G 0 1.8G 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda3 7.8G 5.3G 2.1G 72% /home
    /dev/sda7 2.0G 38M 1.9G 2% /tmp
    /dev/sda5 5.0G 4.2G 487M 90% /usr
    /dev/sda8 425G 337G 67G 84% /var root@server1 [~]#

    Take Care
    Lauren
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Lauren,

    I do not see a home2 separate partition mounted on either of these. Since only /home and anything containing home is being detected, there wouldn't be anything mounted to use a second location for rearranging accounts. This message is correct on what is being found:

    If you wish to use another mounted partition other than /home for putting accounts into that location, you would need to add it in WHM > Basic cPanel & WHM Setup area under this option:

    Rather than using the default /home, you would want to put the name of the other partition you would want matched.
     
  7. audrey

    audrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks again for your help Tristan.
    You are always great!!
    Have a wonderful afternoon
    Take Care
    Lauren
     
  8. jacampbe

    jacampbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a similar issue to this one.
    I have four accounts defined on my server and the all four show the following when I bring them up in WHM Account Functions >> Rearrange an Account .....

    /boot does not match “home”

    Is this a problem ?
     
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is the output of the commands I asked in the thread for the machine in question?

    Code:
    mount
    cat /etc/fstab
    df -kh
     
  10. jacampbe

    jacampbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    /dev/sda3 on / type ext4 (rw)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
    tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid)
    /dev/sda1 on /boot type ext4 (rw)
    /dev/sdb1 on /home/ae type ext3 (rw)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
    /usr/tmpDSK on /tmp type ext3 (rw,noexec,nosuid,loop=/dev/loop0)
    /tmp on /var/tmp type none (rw,noexec,nosuid,bind)


    #
    # /etc/fstab
    # Created by anaconda on Wed Feb 22 21:49:00 2012
    #
    # Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
    # See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
    #
    /dev/sda3 / ext4 defaults 1 1
    /dev/sda1 /boot ext4 defaults 1 2
    /dev/sda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs noexec,nosuid 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/sdb1 /home/ae ext3 defaults 0 0
    /usr/tmpDSK /tmp ext3 defaults,noauto 0 0
    /tmp /var/tmp ext3 defaults,bind,noauto 0 0


    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda3 145G 11G 127G 8% /
    tmpfs 854M 0 854M 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda1 485M 58M 402M 13% /boot
    /dev/sdb1 147G 48G 92G 35% /home/ae
    /usr/tmpDSK 1.4G 35M 1.3G 3% /tmp
     
  11. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What partition are you trying to change to for rearrange area? I do not see a /home mounted and only see /home/ae mounted as a different partition.
     
  12. jacampbe

    jacampbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks Tristan.
    For the time being, I don't need to do any account re-arranging.
    When we migrated the account "ae" onto this server from another server (using the pkgacct and restorepkg utilities), the root directory was set one level too deep - ie. /home/ae/ae instead of /home/ae.
    During my investigation of how to correct this, I was looking at the WHM Re-Arrange Account feature.
    Eventually, I used the information in this thread to fix the issue:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/change-site-root-directory-159725.html

    Whilst I have no immediate need to re-arrange any accounts, I'd like to understand the meaning of the /boot does not match “home” message that shows for all four accounts defined on our server.
     
    #12 jacampbe, Oct 7, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2012
  13. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The message is pretty clear. /boot isn't a usable partition to use to re-arrange an account, since WHM > Basic cPanel & WHM Setup area sets the usable partition for accounts as /home and anything matching home.
     
  14. jacampbe

    jacampbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks Tristan.
    So, this is just a warning message stating that the /boot partition must not contain the (root/home) directories for users accounts ..... therefore, do not attempt to move them there.
    Correct ?
     
  15. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's an error indicating that /boot doesn't match /home or have home in it, so /boot cannot be used to move any accounts to it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page