The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rearranging Accounts Problem!!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by frogee, Aug 8, 2003.

  1. frogee

    frogee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    VERY URGENT!!! Rearranging Accounts Problem!!!

    This is what we told the datacenter to do:
    So is this exactly how it will work...
    1) You power down the server
    2) you install a new hard drive that is the same quality or better than the one in the server you are replacing.
    3) you install RedHat9.0 and cPanel on the new hard drive
    4) you make sure the partitions are set up correctly and that there is PLENTY of room on the home drive for all of the data they will place on there.
    5) you then make sure everything is setup right and it is running correctly.
    6) then you will mount the old hard drive as /home2
    7) then you bring the server back on the network
    8) then we will use the rearrange accounts feature in WHM to move the accounts from /home2 on the OLD hard drive to the /home directory on the NEW hard drive.


    However, now that they have installed the OS and cpanel on the NEW hard drive....I went to rearrange accounts and it did not list ANY! I really need to move those accounts now.

    Here is the partition layout:
    Current Disk Usage
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda2 73G 1.9G 67G 3% /
    /dev/hda1 99M 9.0M 85M 10% /boot
    /dev/hdb7 1012M 276M 685M 29% /drive2
    /dev/hdb3 99M 5.2M 89M 6% /drive2boot
    /dev/vg01/lv_data 2.5G 33M 2.4G 2% /drive2data
    /dev/hdb10 14G 13G 445M 97% /drive2home
    /dev/hdb8 1012M 33M 928M 4% /drive2tmp
    /dev/hdb5 41G 5.3G 34G 14% /drive2usr
    /dev/hdb9 14G 267M 13G 3% /drive2var
    none 251M 0 251M 0% /dev/shm


    What do I need to do to gain access to all of the accounts on the OLD drive (drive2) so that I can move them to the NEW drive (home)?

    thanks SO much!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #1 frogee, Aug 8, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2003
  2. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    uumm...just use the move command via shell. You might also want to have your data center partition the new drive properly.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. frogee

    frogee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was wondering about the new partitions....
    they did:
    /boot - 100 MB
    swap - 1000 MB
    / - rest

    is that bad? I am new to this.

    Also, the move command in SSH....is that hard to use?

    I know enough about SSH to use it...but i have not used the move command.

    There is about 14 gigs of data to move and a total of 38 accounts. Will that be hard? Or take a long time?

    Thanks!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yeah, that partitioning scheme is a nightmare. For an 80 GB drive you should use:

    001 GB /
    050 MB /boot
    001 GB /tmp
    018 GB /usr
    015 GB /var
    001 GB swap
    Remaining space to /home

    The mv command is exceptionally easy to use:

    mv /path/to/old/data /path/where/you/want/to/move/it/to

    ex. mv /drive2home/USERNAME /home/

    14 GBs across hard drives shouldn't take too long. Probably less than an hour, if that.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. frogee

    frogee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks so much! I will have to try that move thing!

    But, before I move my accounts to the new hard drive with the partitions:

    /boot - 100 MB
    swap - 1000 MB
    / - rest

    should I have the datacenter change those partitions?

    When I told them that you said they should be different....they said:

    Also, the reason I think you have this problem with paritions is because all these different partitions were made by dell and their redhat? Because I have never seen anyone here do anything like this before. So I am assuming it came from dell with Redhat.


    What could happen with the partitions like they are now? What is the problem with that?

    Thanks again!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. frogee

    frogee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    and one last thing....how to I access shell since there are not accounts in WHM? I usually go through cpanel's SSH icon. Thanks!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I would have them changed to what I suggested.
    This could be true; it looks like someone was lazy and simply chose the auto-partition option when installing Red Hat.
    Advantages of a correct partitioning scheme include but are not limited to security, data corruption control, performance, etc.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Download an SSH client and get in that way.

    I have a feeling that you won't be able to complete this data move yourself. There are a lot of essential files/directories you need to move/edit in order for this rearrangement to be successful. Perhaps you should hire a system admin to expedite this process.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. frogee

    frogee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks, I will see what we can do.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page